Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Web Sites, Reports, and Fact Sheets
Bring Your Green to Work with ENERGY STAR
Very helpful when trying to make workplaces more energy efficient. Extensive list of resources includes printable tip cards and posters, green team basics, fast facts about building energy use and global warming, and an EnergyIQ quiz.
Buying Guide - Understanding Energy Efficient Ratings
This easy-to-read guide explains how appliances are rated for efficiency, what the ratings mean, and what to look for while shopping for new appliances. Useful for ready reference and for purchasing new appliances for employee break areas.
Calculating Energy Savings
Estimating the energy impacts from clean energy policies and programs is a critical evaluation step that enables calculation of other benefits, such as reductions in greenhouse gases, air pollutants, and electricity demand. How this is done depends on whether the effort being evaluated aims to increase clean energy supply or reduce energy demand (i.e., energy efficiency).
Commercial Sector: Buildings and Equipment
Covers all aspects of energy efficient buildings and equipment. Focus is office buildings, but much of the information also applies to libraries.
Computer Power Management Savings Calculator
Downloadable Excel spreadsheet that calculates energy and money saved by adjusting the power settings on your organization's computers.
Database of State Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency (DSIRE)
Comprehensive database of state, local, utility, and federal incentives and policies that promote renewable energy and energy efficiency. Established in 1995 and funded by the U.S. Department of Energy, DSIRE is an ongoing project of the N.C. Solar Center and the Interstate Renewable Energy Council. Excellent resource for locating funding for energy efficiency projects.
Energy Star, a cooperative effort of the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, is the federal government's energy efficiency portal. Includes a wealth of information on all aspects of energy efficiency, including statistics.
Estimating Appliance and Home Electronic Energy Use
Provides a general formula for estimating energy consumption of appliances, along with a list of typical wattages for various appliances.
Federal Energy Management Program
This program assists federal agencies with using energy wisely. Includes information on purchasing energy efficient products, deploying renewable energy technologies, identifying funding opportunities, and inventorying and managing greenhouse gases. Although federal agencies are the target audience, these resources will also be useful to library administrators.
Fifteen O&M Best Practices for Energy Efficiency
Building operation and maintenance programs specifically designed to enhance operating efficiency of HVAC and lighting systems can save 5 to 20 percent of the energy bills without significant capital investment.The 15 Best Practices described in this booklet are strategies that facility managers, energy managers and property managers can use to integrate energy-efficient operation into their organizations' O&M programs and to obtain support from senior management.
Granola Enterprise helps organizations identify and eliminate energy waste in their computers. With a free account, you can create an organization-wide IT energy footprint, making it easy to identify energy waste and evaluate power management options.
How to Read the EnergyGuide Label
The EnergyGuide label gives you two important pieces of information you can use to compare different brands and models when shopping for a new appliance.
Operations & Maintenance Best Practices: A Guide to Achieving Operational Efficiency
The purpose of this guide is to provide the Operations and Maintenance (O&M)/Energy manager and practitioner, with useful information about O&M management, technologies, energy and water efficiency, and cost-reduction approaches.
Piotrowicz, Lynn and Scott Osgood. 2009. “Building Science 101: Save Money, Energy, and Resources by Getting a Better Understanding of How Your Building Works.” American Libraries 40,(4): 56-8.
Introduction to how HVAC, thermostats, and ceiling fans work. Includes a checklist to ensure that all systems are properly set, which increases energy efficiency and saves money and resources.
Power and Energy Basics: Calculating Energy Use & Savings
Provides basic information about power and energy, along with examples of simple electricity and natural gas calculations, which are useful when trying to calculate baseline energy use.
Procedure to Measure Indoor Lighting Energy Performance
This document provides standard definitions of performance metrics and methods to determine them for the energy performance of building interior lighting systems. It can be used for existing buildings and for proposed buildings. The primary users for whom these documents are intended are building energy analysts and technicians who design, install, and operate data acquisition systems, and who analyze and report building energy performance data. Typical results from the use of this procedure are
This Old Library
Offers suggestions for transforming existing library buildings to make them more sustainable, with a focus on energy efficiency.
Whole Building Design Guide: Sustainable O&M Practices
One goal of effective O&M is to achieve the intent of the original building design team, i.e., so that building systems deliver services (including the appropriate amount of outside air) to building occupants. O&M is also the discipline through which long-term goals of economy, energy efficiency, resource conservation, and pollution prevention can be achieved, while meeting the comfort, health, and safety requirements of the tenants.
Below are sources for financing energy efficiency projects.