Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This page contains information relating to green buidings and case studies of green library building projects. For specific aspects of facilities management, see the following pages:
Examples of what specific libraries are doing to go green.
Green Building in Libraries
Barnes, Laura L. (2012). "Green Buildings as Sustainability Education Tools." Library Hi Tech 30(3), 397-407.
Purpose – The purpose of this paper is to provide an overview of green building technologies and practices and illustrate how public libraries can use them as tools to teach their communities about sustainability and foster behavior change. Design/methodology/approach – Through literature searches, case studies analysis, and individual phone and e-mail interviews, the author identified ways that public libraries can use their buildings to demonstrate green technologies and practices and show their patrons how to apply them at home, at work, and in the community. Findings – Education is a component of LEED certification. Many LEED certified libraries publicize a list of the green technologies used in their building projects. Some sponsor programs related to the green building and include permanent displays in the library to explain how the technology works. The Fayetteville Public Library went beyond these basic techniques to not only improve the sustainability of their operations
Building Science 101 : A Primer for Librarians
Designed for libraries where construction of a wholly new building is not feasible, this book offers step-by-step instructions for a) Improving the energy use of existing structures, with methods for being environmentally and fiscally responsible; b) Identifying ways to enhance building maintenance; and c) Investing resources now in order to free them later for core library functions.
Daylighting Design in Libraries
Provides an overview of designing library buildings to take advantage of daylighting.
Energy Efficient, Low-Mercury Lighting for Your Home or Organization: Approved for City & County of San Francisco Departments
Manufacturers are not required to indicate how much toxic mercury is in lighting products. To address this issue, SF Environment created this list, which includes the amount of toxic mercury in over 700 energy efficient, long-lasting lighting products by major manufacturers. Use this list to purchase greener energy efficient lighting.
Frequently Asked Questions - Lamp Disposal, Recycling & Environmental
A FAQ with information about recycling fluorescent lamps and ballasts. Includes links to information for home and business.
Green Building Certification System Review
Section 436(h) of the Energy Independence and Security Act (EISA) requires GSA to evaluate green building certification systems every five years to identify a system and certification level "deem(ed) to be most likely to encourage a comprehensive and environmentally sound approach to certification of green buildings." EISA directs the Director of GSA's Office of Federal High-Performance Green Buildings to provide the findings to the Secretary of Energy who, in consultation with the Department of Defense and GSA, formally identifies the system(s) to be used across the federal government.
The Greening of America’s Libraries: LEEDing the Way
The goal of The Greening of America’s Libraries is to provide the information, tools and confidence a non-building or design professional needs to construct or renovate library spaces with an eye towards sustainability. Carr and Carr provide readers with point by point explanations of LEED requirements in all relevant categories along with examples of existing library building projects that illustrate specific LEED requirements. The handbook is an invaluable resource for anyone involved in library renovation projects along with the construction or lease of new library spaces. Cost; $60 as an e-book.
Green Libraries Grow in SL
Profile of the creators of the Sustainable Living Library in Second Life. The virtual library, located on SL's Emerald City, gives real-world librarians ideas for designing green library buildings. From School Library Journal.
A one-stop information source about recycling lamps (the term used in the lighting industry to refer to all types of light bulbs). Includes a recycling directory, links to energy efficiency resources, and a guide to federal and state laws and regulations.
Mercury Containing Light Bulb (Lamp) Recycling
From the web site: “This web site is intended to increase awareness, provide resource tools, information to users, and to encourage the recycling of all mercury-containing light bulbs, including compact fluorescent light bulbs (CFLs) after they burn out.” Includes links to information about what to do if a CFL breaks and how to dispose of them when they burn out.
Sustainable Library Design
Discusses how to design library buildings to minimize their environmental impact.
This Old Library
Offers suggestions for transforming existing library buildings to make them more sustainable, with a focus on energy efficiency.
Whole Building Design Guide: Libraries
Excellent information on all aspects of building planning and design for public, academic, school, and special libraries. Includes links to relevant standards and resources. Lots of emphasis on sustainable building design. From the National Institute of Building Sciences.
Santa Monica Public LIbrary: The Main Library and Sustainabilty
The City of Santa Monica has received a Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design (LEED™) Gold Rating for the new Main Library. The US Green Building Council’s LEED Green Building Rating System® has been adopted by the City as the basis of design for all of its new construction. The 104,000 square foot Main Library, which opened in January 2006, is the City's second major facility designed and built with the intent of significantly reducing the building's negative impact on the environment. The first was the Public Safety Facility. As a green building, the new Main Library offers many benefits, including environmental protection, economic advantages, and health and safety benefits, while providing an inviting, friendly and comfortable place for library users of all ages.