Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Weeding is a necessary part of collection management that also creates waste. Below are resources to help you dispose of your weeded materials in a more environmentally friendly way.
Most of the resources below are for assistance with building your collection of environmental materials. However, there is also information about making greener collection development decisions. See the sidebar to the left for resources on green weeding. For a list of resource relating to greening the home, see the Green Living LibGuide.
10 must-read environmental books from 2010 to read in 2011
From photo essays of untouched wilderness to hard-hitting exposés of corporate negligence, this year's eco-lit addresses the rapidly changing environment and our place in it.
Bytes of Note - Environment on Film
Bibliographic essay on web resources for identifying and locating films with environmental themes.
Collection Development "Sustainability": Sense & Sustainability
Annotated bibliography of sustainability titles recommended for public and academic library collections. Includes suggestions for criteria to use when weeding older materials in this subject area.
Electronic Green Journal
EGJ is a peer-reviewed digital journal providing open access to scholarly, international environmental information since 1994. It is published semiannually by the UCLA Library. An excellent source of reviews of sustainability resources.
A guide to films with environmental themes.
Environmental issues provide the backdrop for an array of novels, from suspense to romance to comedy. This bibliography includes books for young adults and adults.
Faculty Sustainability Book Club Suggestions
Suggestions from GRNSCH-L, an e-mail list for sustainability professionals working in higher education.
Going Green @ My Library
Pathfinder for Lake County, FL library patrons about green lifestyle materials available in the library's collection. Good selection of books on various environmental topics, although it lacks some newer titles.
Greening the Library: Collection Development Decisions
Article from ALA's New Members Roundtable journal that discusses the relative environmental merits of print and electronic resources.
Mother Nature Network > Book Reviews
Excellent resource for reviews of new sustainability books.
Reading List for Water Conservation and Water Science
Developed by the City of Phoenix, this list includes titles for K-12 students and adults.
Society of Environmental Journalists Books page
Recommended or authored by SEJ members, environmental fiction and Covering Pollution by SEJ & Investigative Reporters and Editors.
The Green Earth Book Award
Annual award given to books that inspire young readers to appreciate and care for the environment. Awards are given in January of each year. Categories include picture book, children's fiction, young adult fiction, and non-fiction. Includes lists of current and past winners.
The Video Project
The Video Project collection includes award-winning programs for all ages, including Oscar and Emmy award-winners from over 200 independent filmmakers worldwide. Topics include the environment, science, health, and global issues.
Top 10 Books for Youth on the Environment
Annotated list of the top ten environmental books for youth reviewed in Booklist in 2008. Appears in the February 15 issue each year. Includes both fiction and non-fiction.
Top 10 Books on the Environment
Annotated list of the top ten environmental books reviewed in Booklist in 2008. Appears in the February 15 issue each year.
Top 10 environmental books of 2009
Annotated list of Mother Nature Network's picks for the best environmental books of 2009.