Library Catalogs
Searching the Library Catalog for Books about Food History
You can search the Library Catalog by author, title, keyword (words that appear anywhere in the information about the book), or subject. "Subject" refers to a controlled vocabulary (agreed-on set of terms), in this case the Library of Congress subject headings. Some useful subject terms:
- food history
- cooking history
- food habits
- food social aspects
Library of Congress Call Numbers
| TX341-TX641 | Nutrition. Foods and Food Supply |
| TX353 | Food History |
| TX360-TX361 | Diet, food supply of countries and groups |
| TX369-TX370 | Natural foods, junk foods |
| TX371-TX407 | Meats, dairy, vegetables, vegetarianism, cereals, spices, condiments |
| TX501-TXTX549 | Food analysis, composition, methods of analysis |
| TX551-TX560 | Food values, dietary studies, specific foods, constituents |
| TX563-TX597 | Food adulteration, residues, impurities |
| TX599-TX612 | Home food preservation and storage |
| TX631-TX641 | Gastronomy |
Dewey Decimal Call Numbers
| 641 | Food and Drink |
| 641.1 | Applied Nutrition |
| 641.2 | Beverages (Drink) |
| 641.3 | Food |
| 641.4 | Food Preservation and Storage |
| 641.5 | Cooking, Recipes |
| 641.6 | Cooking Specific Materials |
| 641.7 | Specific Cooking Processes and Techniques |
| 641.8 | Cooking Specific Kinds of Composite Dishes |
| 642 | Meals and Table Service |
Note! The University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Library uses both Library of Congress and Dewey Decimal in its collections
- Library Catalog (Primo)The University of Illinois Catalog.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowWorldCat is a worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. With millions of online records built from the bibliographic and ownership information of contributing libraries, it is the largest and most comprehensive database of its kind. You can also use WorldCat on the FirstSearch platform.
Digitized Book Collections
Browse Early American Imprints and Afro-American Imprints by subject "economics and trade" and/or "agriculture" for best results. Within agriculture you can browse subsection "food" or "sugar" or "coffee".
- Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922: From the Library Company of Philadelphia
Over 12,000 printed works, including books, pamphlets, and broadsides. Part of the Archive of Americana.
- Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America from 1801 through 1819. Contains many state papers and government materials, including published reports; presidential letters and messages; and congressional, state and territorial resolutions. Based on the American Bibliography by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker, which is now supplemented by thousands of new items. Allows browsing by genre, subject, author, printing history, place of publication, and language. Allows searching in citation text, title, subject, genre, author, place of publication, publisher, and document number. Cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana collections.
- Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans, Supplement from AAS
Supplement to Series I, Evans by the American Antiquarian Society. Contains 2,300 newly discovered works printed in America between 1652 and 1800. Contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, and more. Allows browsing by genre, subject, author, printing history, place of publication, and language. Allows searching in citation text, title, subject, genre, author, place of publication, publisher, and document number. Cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana collections.
- Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans, Supplement from LCP
Supplement to Series I, Evans by the Library Company of Philadelphia. Contains 1,100 newly discovered works printed in America between 1670 and 1800. Contains books, pamphlets, broadsides, and more. Allows browsing by genre, subject, author, printing history, place of publication, and language. Allows searching in citation text, title, subject, genre, author, place of publication, publisher, and document number. Cross-searchable with other Archive of Americana collections.
- Early American Imprints, Series II. Shaw-Shoemaker
Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans (14 vols., 1903-34, 1955-59); and subsequent bibliographic works by Roger Bristol, James Mooney and Clifford Shipton. This database includes more than 1,000 works located, catalogued and digitized since the completion of the earlier microfilmed set, Early American Imprints, 1639-1800, which was also based on Charles Evans' American Bibliography.