Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subject Specialist Librarians and Archivists
Subject specialist librarians and archivists are eager to assist you with your research, and in most cases can save you a lot of time, especially if you meet with them early in order to plan out your research strategy. Please feel free to contact us directly, via email:
For assistance using the University Archives, contact the University archivists at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Please check the list of Subject Specialists to find out who specializes in other areas related to your project.
Use published reference works like encyclopedias and bibliographies to find consistently reliable background information and suggestions for further reading, offered by acknowledged experts.
Find more resources in our Online Reference Collection.
Food in Time and Place by
Publication Date: 2014
Food and cuisine are important subjects for historians across many areas of study. Food, after all, is one of the most basic human needs and a foundational part of social and cultural histories. Such topics as famines, food supply, nutrition, and public health are addressed by historians specializing in every era and every nation. Food in Time and Place delivers an unprecedented review of the state of historical research on food, endorsed by the American Historical Association, providing readers with a geographically, chronologically, and topically broad understanding of food cultures--from ancient Mediterranean and medieval societies to France and its domination of haute cuisine. Teachers, students, and scholars in food history will appreciate coverage of different thematic concerns, such as transfers of crops, conquest, colonization, immigration, and modern forms of globalization.
The Oxford Companion to Food by
Call Number: TX349 .D36 2014
Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Combines food history and culinary expertise for a useful reference work to anyone studying food history. Available online or in Mainstacks.
The Chicago Food Encyclopedia by
Call Number: 664.00973 C432
Publication Date: 2017-08-16
The Chicago Food Encyclopedia is a far-ranging portrait of an American culinary paradise. Hundreds of entries deliver all of the visionary restauranteurs, Michelin superstars, beloved haunts, and food companies of today and yesterday. More than 100 sumptuous images include thirty full-color photographs that transport readers to dining rooms and food stands across the city. Pizza. Alinea. Wrigley Spearmint. Soul food. Rick Bayless. Hot Dogs. Koreatown. Everest. All served up A-Z, and all part of the ultimate reference on Chicago and its food.
Available at Funk Aces or online
Encyclopedia of Kitchen History by
Call Number: Q. 643.309 Sn52e
Publication Date: 2004-09-27
"From the discovery of fire to the latest space mission, the Encyclopedia of Kitchen History brings together the rich diversity of kitchen history in one accessible volume. Students, researchers, scholars, and culinary aficionados- from beginners to experts- will find this Encyclopedia to be a fascinating look into the history of the kitchen from the foodstuffs prepared to the tools and implements used as well as the innovators who shaped its function and utility"--Publisher's blurb.
Food and Drink in American History by
Call Number: Q. 641.597303 F739
Publication Date: 2013-10-28
This three-volume encyclopedia on the history of American food and beverages serves as an ideal companion resource for social studies and American history courses, covering topics ranging from early American Indian foods to mandatory nutrition information at fast food restaurants.
More food history research guides
You may find useful information in these research guides on related topics:
From the University of Illinois:
From other libraries and organizations (note that the links and specific location information will not apply --use these guides to identify resources that we may provide at Illinois, or that you can borrow via Interlibrary Loan):