|
Term |
Definition |
|---|---|
| Born Digital |
Materials created in a digital format, which includes digital files, digital photographs and videos, electronic records, websites, emails. |
| Creator | Person, entity, organization, or agency who is responsible for creating the intellectual contents of a resource. (For example, the author, photographer, or artist.) |
| Collection landing page | Within the Digital Special Collections platform, this page includes title and a description of the collection through which a user can search or access the digital content of the collection. |
| Digital Collection | A digital collection is a collection of files that is digitally preserved and may be accessible in an online portal, system or software. A digital collection may contain photographs, maps, correspondence, manuscripts, books, journals, images, or audio/video. |
| Digital Surrogates | Digital version of physical materials in a collection. See also "digitized material." |
| Digitized Material | Reformatted physical materials converted through a process of digitization (scanning or photography) into a digital version. See also "digital surrogates." |
| Download Options | Select the format and quality of files user can choose to access and receive data from a digital collection. |
| Facet | Facets allow user to refine a search by element or property which may include creator, date, decade, publisher, subject, location (geographical or spatial coverage), language, resource type or genre (format of material), and collection structure (type of collection). |
| Repository | The library or archives unit that is responsible for managing physical or digital materials within a specific domain or subject focus. |