There are 2 types of collections present in the Digital Special Collections platform.  These two options allow archivists and librarians flexibility to customize the display and description that best suits the needs of the materials in a given collection:

• Digitized Materials, a format which provides a browse list of items with specific descriptive information, typically with the ability to limit results by different descriptive elements using facets
• Digital Archives, a format which typically provides a folder and file browse view, also referred to as "tree view" (note that some Digital Archives collections may instead use "list view," which looks similar to the browse list for the Digitized Materials collections format but presents individual files, often without precise descriptive information)

These types of collections contain precise item-level descriptions and facets which include subject, creator, date, language, publisher, and spatial coverage to name a few. Users may select from the various facet options on the left-hand side of the window to help minimize results. Facet options vary across these collections. This allows users to filter results and pinpoint specific results.

Collections without precise level of description for materials are referred to as Digital Archives. These types of collections allow users to browse digitized materials within folders and files. Contact information is available on the main page for every collection and users are encouraged to contact the archivist at the email address provided for help navigating these collections. On the browse page, the contact info is found in the blue box ("Note on file organization and description") or under the "contact" button available to the right of the title of the item or folder. 

The "Collection Structure" facet, found on the left-hand side of the window, offers users the to ability filter by the type of collection and level of detailed description accompanying the items in the collection. To filter results by collection structure, select from Digitized Archives or Digitized Materials. Note that this facet is only available if you are viewing collections, not items.