LibGuides: History 200C: History of Emotions: United States, 1880s-1960s: IV. Periodicals

1. America: History and Life

Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate Access Link
America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate Access Link

The two main article databases for history are Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life. America: History and Life will be the best place to begin when looking for secondary sources in this class.

America: History and Life indexes articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history, and in some cases it provides links to the full text of the articles online. Historical Abstracts indexes articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history, excluding North America, from 1450 to the present.

You can browse a list of subject terms by clicking on "Index" on the left side of the blue bar across the top of the screen. (Choose "Subject terms" from the drop-down menu and enter your term in the "Browse" search box.) You can construct Boolean searches by using the Advanced Search option and combine keywords or subject terms or both.

Your search results display as short records, which you can expand by clicking on the title. The full entry shows you an abstract or summary of the article. Some of the records provide a link to the full text of the article.

2. Other Article Databses

Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
1969-present. Identifies articles from alternative newspapers, magazines and journals.
Alternate Access Link

American Popular Entertainment Collection
1853-1922. Trade journals published for the entertainment industry in the United States, with a focus on vaudeville. Digitized by the History, Philosophy, and Newspaper Library at the University of Illinois.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
1880-2000. When completed, it will contain full runs of 26 major consumer and trade magazines, from their first issues through the year 2000.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1959-present. Newspapers, magazine, and journal articles from ethnic, minority and native presses.

Farm, Field and Fireside: Agricultural Newspaper Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Historically significant U.S. farm weeklies, predominantly published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, but including some through the Twentieth Century. Together with the introduction of rural mail delivery, the telephone, and the automobile, farm newspapers played a key role in the modernization of rural America.
more...less...
Together with the introduction of rural mail delivery, the telephone, and the automobile, farm newspapers played a key role in the modernization of rural America. The Farm, Field and Fireside collection contains historically significant U.S. farm weeklies published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
1970-present. Newspapers and periodicals with an emphasis on women and gender issues.
Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window
The popular, American illustrated weekly magazine. One of the few major American periodicals not included in American Periodicals Online. Includes searchable subject indexes, with separate subject access to the illustrations. 1913-1916 available in HathiTrust .
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
1970-present. Multi-disciplinary. Identifies journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, and Hispanics in the United States.
Humanities and Social Sciences Retrospective This link opens in a new window
1907-1984. Indexes articles from over 1,000 periodicals and journals in the humanities and social sciences. Digitized version of H.W. Wilson's Humanities Index and Social Sciences Index.
Alternate Access Link
Left Index This link opens in a new window
1982-present. Identifies articles written from a leftist political, economic, social or cultural perspective. Includes some retrospective coverage of historically significant left wing publications like the People (New York, N.Y. : 1891).
Alternate Access Link
LGBT Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1950-present. Identifies articles on all aspects of LGBTQ studies from thousands of periodicals, books and reference works Also includes full text for more than 120 historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as full text for more than 150 books.
Alternate Access Link
Liberty Magazine This link opens in a new window
Liberty: A Weekly for Everybody was founded in 1924 by Joseph Patterson, publisher of the New York Daily News and Robert McCormick, publisher of the Chicago Tribune. They set out to make the magazine more topical, daring and exciting than any competitors. Information was presented in a style heavily influenced by the emerging motion picture industry and focused on the most sensational and popular issues.
Nation Archive, The This link opens in a new window
1865-present. Facsimile edition of the influential, American liberal news weekly.
Alternate Access Link
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
1915-present. Identifies articles, books, websites, statistics, yearbooks, directories, conference proceedings, pamphlets, reports, government documents, and microfiches on political, social, public policy issues.
Readers' Guide Retrospective This link opens in a new window
1890-1982. The backfile for Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, one of the oldest and most common article indexes. Identifies articles from general interest periodicals, including popular magazines such as "Life", "Look", "Colliers", "Ladies’ Home Journal", "Catholic World", "Good Housekeeping", "Saturday Evening Post", and "Country Life". Emphasis on American periodicals.
Alternate Access Link
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
1908-present. Identifies journal articles, books, and conference papers, on all aspects of sociology, including sociological history, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family studies, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social structure, and social theory.
Alternate Access Link
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1952-present. Identifies journal articles on all aspects of sociology, comparable in scope to SocINDEX, but includes more books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1973-present. Identifies journal articles on urban studies, urban affairs, community development, and urban history.
Alternate Access Link
Vogue This link opens in a new window
1892-present. Full color, searchable facsimiles of every issue, with garment type, designer and brand name indexes.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
1972-present. Identifies articles from women's studies journals as well as books, reports, websites, and conference papers.
Alternate Access Link

3. Full Text Collections

There are several major collections of full-text electronic journals. In these databases you can browse individual issues of journals, or you can do a search across the entire database.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For older journals, use JSTOR ("journal storage"). This is a digitized, fully searchable version of the full content of more than 700 scholarly journals from their inception (sometimes as early as the 18th century) up to the last 1-5 years (recent issues are excluded).
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is another full-text source of journal literature in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Coverage extends back more than 200 years.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
For the full text of more than 300 recent scholarly journals, use Project Muse. These too are fully searchable. In most cases, only the issues from the last few years are available. Here you will find, for example,
Journal of Asian American Studies
Journal of Interdisciplinary History
History and Memory
Journal of Social History
Radical History Review
Journal of Women's History
Oral History Review
American Jewish History
Journal of Sport History

American Periodicals

American Periodicals, a collection of over 1,800 periodicals, published in the United States between 1740 and 1940.

African American Periodicals

African American Periodicals, 1825-1995: About 170 serials published by, for, or about African Americans.

4. Periodicals on Microfilm

The University Library has hundreds of newspapers on microfilm, with coverage back to 1960 and earlier. The best way to check for availability of specific titles, or to browse by date and place of publication, is to consult the Library's Newspaper Database.

Hoover Institution Supplement to Underground Press Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un24
Supplements the Underground Press Collection (see above): adds missing issues from 88 titles in the original collection, and an additional 178 titles from the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace. With printed guide. Click here to view a complete list of titles in the Hoover Institution Supplement to Underground Press Collection.
Herstory : Microfilm Edition of the International Women's History Periodical Archive by Women’s History Research Center
Call Number: FILM 396 H439
Covers mostly the 1960s and 1970s. Journals, newspapers, and newsletters of women's liberation organizations, as well as women's civic, religious, professional, and peace organizations. The collection was issued in five successive parts. Consult the completed guide to understand the complicated arrangement.
Underground Press Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un2
Most titles from the United States and Canada. With printed guide. Coverage: 1963-1985. Supplemented and continued by the Hoover Institution Supplement to Underground Press Collection, the University of Missouri Underground Newspaper Collection, the Alternative Press Collection, and the Underground Press Collection Alternative Press Center Supplement, for all of which see below. Click here to view a complete title list for the Underground Press Collection.
University of Missouri Library Underground Newspaper Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un1m
Most titles from the United States and Canada. Adds 120 titles to those in the Underground Press Collection (see above). Coverage: 1960s-1970s. With printed guide. Click here to view a complete title list for the University of Missouri Library Underground Newspaper Collection.
Underground Press Collection. Alternative Press Center Supplement
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un23
Further supplements the Underground Newspaper Collection (see above). Library has the complete collection (units 1-8) . Each unit has its own printed guide. Click here to view a complete list of periodicals in the Alternative Press Center Supplement.
Champaign-Urbana Underground Press Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 Un1ic
Coverage: 1960s-1980s.
Military Newspapers: Dougherty Collection
Call Number: FILM 071.3 M599
Coverage: Mexican War-Vietnam War. Titles from all branches of the U.S. military. Emphasis on World War II. Almost 2,500 titles. With printed guide.
San Francisco / Bay Area Gay and Lesbian Serial Collection by a joint project of San Francisco/Bay Area Gay and Lesbian Historical Society and the University of California
Call Number: FILM 306.76605 SA52
61 titles on 96 microfilm reels. Coverage: 1953-1989. Click here to view a full list of titles in the San Francisco / Bay Area Gay and Lesbian Serial Collection.
The Right Wing Collection of the University of Iowa Libraries
Call Number: FILM 320.52 R44
Collection of periodicals and ephemera. Coverage: 1918-1977.