Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History 200C: History of Emotions: United States, 1880s-1960s

A course guide.

On this Page:

  1. America: History and Life
  2. Other Article Databases
  3. Full Text Collections
  4. Periodicals on Microfilm

See also the Guides to Newspapers and Periodicals listed on our page of Reference Sources.

    1. America: History and Life

    The two main article databases for history are Historical Abstracts and America: History and Life. America: History and Life will be the best place to begin when looking for secondary sources in this class.

    America: History and Life indexes articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history, and in some cases it provides links to the full text of the articles online. Historical Abstracts indexes articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history, excluding North America, from 1450 to the present.

    You can browse a list of subject terms by clicking on "Index" on the left side of the blue bar across the top of the screen.  (Choose "Subject terms" from the drop-down menu and enter your term in the "Browse" search box.)  You can construct Boolean searches by using the Advanced Search option and combine keywords or subject terms or both. 

    Your search results display as short records, which you can expand by clicking on the title. The full entry shows you an abstract or summary of the article. Some of the records provide a link to the full text of the article.

    2. Other Article Databses

    3. Full Text Collections

    There are several major collections of full-text electronic journals. In these databases you can browse individual issues of journals, or you can do a search across the entire database.
  1. American Periodicals
    American Periodicals, a collection of over 1,800 periodicals, published in the United States between 1740 and 1940.
  2. African American Periodicals
    African American Periodicals, 1825-1995: About 170 serials published by, for, or about African Americans.
  3. 4. Periodicals on Microfilm

    The University Library has hundreds of newspapers on microfilm, with coverage back to 1960 and earlier. The best way to check for availability of specific titles, or to browse by date and place of publication, is to consult the Library's Newspaper Database.