Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Entomology Department: Start Here

A guide for those in the School of Integrative Biology. After using this guide, students in Entomology will be able to locate resources that are needed for their field of study.

New e-books

Handbook of Vegetable Pests

...and the more technical dichotomous keys for identification of many of the difficult-to-identify species. It includes over 300 common and occasional pest species, detailing the geographic distribution of vegetable pests, host plant relationships, natural enemies, damage, life history, and methods of control and damage prevention. Key Features: Presents a current and comprehensive synthesis of vetted information for the support of both commercial and home vegetable production; Includes over 300 common and occasional pest species, or species complexes, known to affect vegetables grown in the United States and Canada; Summarizes the important findings of the last 150 years; Provides citations to the original literature." -- Provided by publisher.

Insect Collection and Identification

...This book provides detailed taxonomic keys to insects and related arthropods, giving recent classification changes to various insect taxa, along with updated preservation materials and techniques for molecular and genomic studies. It includes methods of rearing, storing and shipping specimens, along with a supporting glossary. New sections provide suggestions on how insects and other arthropods can be used within, and outside, the formal classroom and examine currently accepted procedures for collecting insects at crime scenes. This book is a necessary reference for entomology professionals and researchers who seek the most updated taxonomy and techniques for collection and preservation. It will serve as a valuable resource for entomology students and professionals who need illustrative and detailed information for easy arthropod identification. Features updated and concise illustrations for anatomical identification Provides an overview of general insect anatomy with dichotomous keys Offers sample insect-arthropod based activities for science projects Expands the forensic aspect of evidence collection and chain-of-custody requirements."

Urban Landscape Entomology

...For those who need training in landscape entomology, this work serves as a practical guidebook and resource. Its chapters include quality color images of pests, along with pest management tactics, such as tree injection procedures. This topical arrangement facilitates easy extraction of information relevant to a particular situation (e.g., management of borers) and uses practical terms without oversimplifying the subject matter. This work is an invaluable resource for practitioners of landscape entomology, including technicians and operations that service local landscape management needs, such as horticultural and turfgrass management. In addition, it is also a useful reference for advanced courses in landscape entomology."

Innovative Pest Management Approaches of the 21st Century

...Recently the focus has shifted to pest management tools that act on insect systems selectively, are compatible with the environment, and are not harmful for ecosystems. Other approaches target specific biochemical and physiological aspects of insect metabolism, and involve biotechnological and genetic manipulation. Still other approaches include the use of nanotechnology, endophytes, optical and sonic manipulation to detect and control pest insects. Unfortunately, conventional forms of pest management do not focus on technology transfer to the ground level workers and farmers. As a result, farmers are incurring huge losses of crops and revenues. This book highlights the importance of using communication tools in pest management and demonstrates some success stories of utilizing automated unmanned technologies in this context. The content is divided into three sections, the first of which, "Pest Population Monitoring: Modern Tools," covers long and short-range pest population monitoring techniques and tools such as satellites, unmanned aerial vehicles/drones, remote sensing, digital tools like GIS, GPS for mapping, lidar, mobile apps, software systems, artificial diet designs and functional diversity of info-chemicals. The second section of the book is devoted to "Emerging Areas in Pest Management" and offers a glimpse of diversified tactics that have been developed to contain and suppress pest populations such as endophytes, insect vectors of phytoplasma, Hymenopterans parasitoids, mass production and utilization of NPV etc. In turn, the third section focuses on "Integrated Pest Management" and presents farming situations that illustrate how research in diversified aspects has helped to find solutions to specific pest problems, and how some new and evolving tactics can be practically implemented. Given its scope, the book offers a valuable asset for entomology and plant pathology researchers, students of zoology and plant protection, and readers whose work involves agriculture, horticulture, forestry and other ecosystems."

Insect Molecular Genetics: An Introduction to Principle and Applications

...It demonstrates the role molecular genetics plays in pest management and basic insect biology research, assuming readers have little to no prior knowledge on the subject. This newest edition features updates on the latest trends and discoveries, such as CRISPR-Cas genome editing methods, epigenetic inheritance, DNA amplification techniques, and molecular phylogenies. Certain chapter topics, including P-element mediated transformation and insect population molecular techniques, are condensed and updated to create a more comprehensive and concise read. This foundational text is a valuable resource for entomologists with limited training in molecular genetics, and will be an ideal source for pest control advisors who need to understand the vocabulary and methods that are used to solve entomological issues."

Medical and Veterinary Entomology

...Each chapter includes sections on taxonomy, morphology, life history, and behavior and ecology, with separate sections on those species of public-health and veterinary importance. Each concludes with approaches to management of pest species and prevention of arthropod-borne diseases. The third edition provides a comprehensive source for teaching medical and/or veterinary entomology at the college and university level, targeted particularly at upper-level undergraduate and graduate/postgraduate programs. In addition to its value as a student textbook, the volume has appeal to a much broader audience, specialists and non-specialists alike. It provides a key reference for biologists in general, entomologists, zoologists, parasitologists, physicians, public-health personnel, veterinarians, wildlife biologists, vector biologists, military entomologists, the general public and others seeking a readable, authoritative account on this important topic.Completely revised and updated edition Includes a distinguished group of 40 nationally and internationally recognized contributors Sixteen new authors, in addition to 25 continuing contributors from the first and second editions A new chapter on Arthropod Toxins and Venoms Illustrated with 560, mostly color, figures and updated maps depicting the distribution of important arthropod taxa and arthropod-borne diseases A significantly expanded and well-illustrated chapter on Molecular Tools Used in Medical and Veterinary Entomology Coverage of emerging and newly recognized arthropod concerns, including mosquito-borne Zika and Chikungunya viruses; tick-borne Bourbon and Heartland viruses; tick-borne rickettsioses and anaplasmosis; and red meat allergy associated with tick bites A 1700-word Glossary An Appendix of Arthropod-Related Viruses of Medical and Veterinary Importance"-- Provided by publisher.

Other LibGuides

Start Here

Find Background Info

Given a topic but don't know anything? Have a general idea but want to see where it leads? You may need an encyclopedia!

Kelli Trei, Biology Librarian

Biology Librarian's picture
Biology Librarian
Contact:
Biosciences Librarian: Kelli Trei, Liaison to the Schools of Life Sciences in LAS: Molecular & Cellular Biology, Integrative Biology, and the Carl R. Woese Institute of Genomic Biology

Funk ACES Library, 1101 S. Goodwin Ave., M/C 633
Urbana, IL 61801
2172442503
Website
Subjects:Biology