Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Introduction to Scopus: Getting Started

Learn how to search for articles, organize your results, and personalize your experience in Scopus.

Photo from Pixabay, retrieved December, 2019.

Learn More!

Still have questions? Looking for a deeper dive on using Scopus? Check out Elsevier's documentation on using Scopus.

Access & Use Support Center

Scopus Tutorials

Quick Reference Guide

About Scopus

Scopus is an abstracts and citations database of peer-reviewed literature. It indexes nearly 23,000 peer-reviewed journals (including open access journals), trade journals, book serials and non-serials, conference proceedings, and patents. Scopus is multidisciplinary, covering life and health sciences, agriculture, environment, engineering, technology, social sciences, landscape architecture, urban planning, and more.

Dates of Coverage:

Varies—some pre-1996 with some back to 1823; cited references, 1996—present; updated daily

Access

There are several different ways to access Scopus from the Library website without using this guide. Here are just a few of the paths you can take:

  • From the Funk ACES Library homepage, under “Funk Library supports research for,” click the “Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences (ACES)” link. Under “Frequently Used,” select “Scopus.”

  • From the Library homepage, search for “Scopus” in the Easy Search bar and click on the direct link at the top of the search results under "Suggestions."

  • From the Databases by Subject & A-Z icon on the Library homepage under "Find Materials," search for “Scopus” in the search bar at the top and and follow the link in the "Scopus" result.

Note:  When off campus, log in with your UIUC NetID and password. If you are having trouble accessing Scopus or another database, view the Access Databases from On and Off Campus page or Ask a Librarian for help.

 

Library

Funk ACES Library's picture
Funk ACES Library
Contact:
200 ACES Library, Information and Alumni Center
1101 S. Goodwin, MC-633
Urbana, IL 61801
Reference Desk: 217-244-2249
Website

Savvy Researcher Workshops

For an interactive Scopus learning experience, check out Fine-Tuning Your Research with Scopus!, a Savvy Researcher workshop offered twice every semester.

View schedule here.

Need a Hand?

Funk ACES graduate students and librarians are always happy to help you use Scopus. Whether you're struggling to formulate a comprehensive search string for a literature review, need help finding articles for a class project, or are having trouble understanding a specific feature, we're here to make searching in databases a little easier!

Email: aceslib@library.illinois.edu

Call: 217-244-2249

Chat: https://www.library.illinois.edu/ask-us/