Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Chinese Buddhist Studies: Buddhist Resources at Illinois

Guides to Chinese Buddhist studies, including Buddhist full text databases, reference tools and index and bibliographical databases of Buddhist studies.

Buddhist Resources at Illinois

   University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Library holds various formats of materials on Chinese Buddhism. One of   the  earliest printed Buddhist text is dated in 8th century. 

 To find what the Library has on Chinese Buddhism, enter the search term "Chinese Buddhism" in the EasySearch box,   and then click the "Library Catalog“ to see holdings of both printed and electronic books. Here are some most recent   publications on Chinese Buddhism. 

Recent Publications on Chinese Buddhism

Electronic Books

Book Cover

The Dunhuang Grottoes and global education : philosophical, spiritual, scientific, and aesthetic insights /

Published 2019

Call Number: Online Resource

Location: *UIUC Online Collection

Get it online

 

Book Cover

Recovering Buddhism in modern China /

Published 2016

Call Number: Online Resource

Location: *UIUC Online Collection

Get it online

Book Cover

Spreading Buddha's word in East Asia : the formation and transformation of the Chinese Buddhist canon /

Published 2016

Call Number: Online Resource

Location: *UIUC Online Collection

Get it online

Book Cover

The science of Chinese Buddhism : early twentieth-century engagements /

by Hammerstrom, Erik J. Published 2015

Call Number: Online Resource

Location: *UIUC Online Collection

Get it online

Book Cover

The Body Incantatory : Spells and the Ritual Imagination in Medieval Chinese Buddhism.

by Copp, Paul F. Published 2014

Call Number: Online Resource

Location: *UIUC Online Collection

Get it online

Book Cover

The Princeton dictionary of Buddhism /

Published 2013

Call Number: Online Resource

Location: *UIUC Online Collection

Get it online

Book Cover

Handbook of Tibetan iconometry : a guide to the arts of the 17th century /

Published 2012

Call Number: Online Resource

Location: *UIUC Online Collection

Get it online

Book Cover

Coming to terms with Chinese Buddhism : a reading of the treasure store treatise /

by Sharf, Robert H. Published ©2002

Call Number: Online Resource

Location: *UIUC Online Collection

Get it online

Book Cover

Cultural intersections in later Chinese Buddhism /

Published ©2001

Call Number: Online Resource

Location: *UIUC Online Collection

Get it online

 

Printed Books 

Book Cover

Forging the golden urn : the Qing Empire and the politics of reincarnation in Tibet /

by Oidtmann, Max Published 2018

Call Number: 951.503 Oi2f

Location: History, Philosophy & Newspaper

Book CoverThe Buddhist roots of Zhu Xi's philosophical thought /

Published 2018

Call Number: 181.112 B859

Location: Main Stacks

Book Cover

Dao companion to Chinese Buddhist philosophy /

Published 2018

Call Number: 181.043 D238

Location: History, Philosophy & Newspaper New

Book Cover

Goddess on the frontier : religion, ethnicity, and gender in southwest China /

by Bryson, Megan Published 2017

Call Number: 299.5112114 B848g

Location: History, Philosophy & Newspaper

Book Cover

The Oxford handbook of contemporary Buddhism /

Published 2017

Call Number: 294.309 Ox22

Location: Main Stacks

Buddhist Subject Headings

Selected Headings:

Buddhism--China

Buddhism--China--History 

Buddhism--China--Tibet

Buddhism--Doctrines

Buddhism--Sacred books

Buddhism--Social aspects--China

Buddhist architecture--China

Buddhist art--China

Call Numbers Related to Chinese Buddhism

In Library of Congress Classification, the Buddhism is in the subclass ranging BQ1-9800. The English language titles on Chinese Buddhist Studies are listed under 294.30951 in Dwey Decimal Classification (DDC). 

LC Buddhist subclasses:

BQ130 Dictionaries (General)

BQ133 Terminology  

BQ251-799 History 

BQ840-999 Biography 

BQ1001-1045 Buddhist literature 

BQ4911-5720 Practice of Buddhism. Forms of worship  

BQ5100-5125 Symbols and symbolism 

BQ5725-5845 Folklore

BQ8000-9800 Special modifications, sects, etc.

BQ8500-8769 Pure Land Buddhism

BQ8900-9099 Tantric Buddhism

BQ9250-9519 Zen Buddhism