Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal of Anxiety Disorders
This journal features interdisciplinary research regarding all aspects of anxiety disorders for all age groups (child, adolescent, adult and geriatric), including assessment, diagnosis, psychosocial and pharmacological treatment, epidemiology, and prevention (Ulrichs Web). This source contains publications from 2000 to the present day.
Anxiety, Stress, and Coping
This journal publishes scientific, theoretically important, and clinically significant research reports and conceptual contributions on anxiety, stress and coping behaviors (Ulrichs Web). This source contains publications from 1992 to the present day, as well as issues from 1988-1991 when it was known as "Anxiety Research."
Depression and Anxiety
This is the official journal of the Anxiety and Depression Association of America (ADAA). Published monthly, this journal features original research papers and synthetic review articles covering neurobiology (genetics and neuroimaging), epidemiology, experimental psychopathology, and treatment (psychotherapeutic and pharmacologic) aspects of mood and anxiety disorders and related phenomena in humans (ADAA). This source contains publications from 1996 to the present day.
The American Journal of Psychology
This journal explores the science of the mind and behavior and features original research in experimental psychology, theoretical presentations, combined theoretical and experimental analyses, historical commentaries, and obituaries of prominent psychologists (Ulrichs Web). This source contains publications from 1887 to the present day.
Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate is a scholarly, multidisciplinary database that provides indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications. This database offers coverage of many areas of academic study, which makes it a great place to start with your research.
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. This database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycINFO provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
PsychiatryOnline is a website that features the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, fifth edition (DSM-5) and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references. This resource also includes books, journals, medication information handouts for patients, clinical and research news, self-assessment tools, and previous editions of the DSM.
The Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy
The Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy is a streaming video collection of the latest in research and best practice methods in the fields of counseling, mental health, and psychology. The collection features presentations from world-renowned researchers and clinicians, such as Donald Meichenbaum, John Gottman, Marsha Linehan, Deepak Chopra, and Salvador Minuchin. Much like traditional, text-based academic journals, The Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy provides the most up-to-date content in counseling and psychology. Database users may create their own custom playlists and video clips.
This database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides citations from 1952 to the present day for journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Its major areas of interest include culture and social structure, family and social welfare, health and medicine, social development, education, and welfare services.
Find the best library databases for your research.
Here are some ways to use keywords in a more complex search:
- By using the word AND to combine keywords databases will yield a narrower and more specific set of results, since AND tells the database to retrieve articles that have both keywords in them.
- By using the word OR to combine keywords databases will yield a broader and more comprehensive set of results, since OR tells the database to retrieve articles that have either one of the keywords in them (rather than both).
Anxiety OR Anxiety Disorders: This search will yield articles that discuss either anxiety or anxiety disorders.
Panic Attacks AND Social Anxiety Disorder: This search will yield articles that discuss both panic attacks and social anxiety disorder in the same article.
Anxiety AND Women: This search will yield articles that discuss both anxiety and women in the same article.
OCD OR Obsessive Compulsive Disorder AND Children: This search will yield articles that discuss either OCD and children in the same article or obsessive compulsive disorder and children in the same article (it is sometimes helpful to search concepts both by their acronyms and full names in case articles only refer to the concept in one particular way).
National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics provides a variety of free health statistics and surveys. They also publish the National Vital Statistics Report.
Our World in Data
Our World in Data provides a variety of statistics across a wide spectrum of disciplines. It is a nonprofit website that brings together open access data and research from around the world.
This guide was created by librarians at UIUC and is a helpful tool for finding statistics from multiple areas of study.