Print reference resources
International Handbook of Social Anxiety: Concepts, Research and Interventions Relating to the Self and Shyness by ISBN: 0471491292Publication Date: 2001-10-08This volume offers comprehensive information on the theoretical and clinical approaches to social anxiety with a focus on key research and critical concepts.
The Essential Handbook of Social Anxiety for Clinicians by Call Number: UIUC Online CollectionISBN: 0470022671Publication Date: 2005-06-24This volume provides information about research and treatments for social anxiety disorder and serves as a concise desk reference resource. It is also a shorter and revised version of the International Handbook of Social Anxiety.
The Wiley Blackwell Handbook of Social Anxiety Disorder by Call Number: UIUC Online CollectionISBN: 9781118653890Publication Date: 2014-02-28This handbook offers in-depth information about social anxiety disorder and is written by leading international authors with backgrounds in clinical psychology and psychiatry.
From Social Anxiety to Social Phobia: Multiple Perspectives by ISBN: 9780205281893Publication Date: 2000-09-20This book comprehensively considers social anxiety from multiple perspectives and is divided into three primary sections: delineation of social phobia and social anxiety, theoretical perspectives, and treatment approaches.
Social Anxiety: Clinical, Developmental, and Social Perspectives by Call Number: UIUC Online CollectionISBN: 9780123944276Publication Date: 2014-08-06This volume takes an interdisciplinary approach to social anxiety disorder and considers perspectives and research findings in the fields of clinical psychology, psychiatry, social psychology, neuroscience, and developmental psychology.
Shy Children, Phobic Adults: Nature and Treatment of Social Anxiety Disorder by Call Number: UIUC Online CollectionISBN: 9781591474524Publication Date: 2006-10-15This volume describes the clinical portrayal of social anxiety disorder, theories about causes of the disorder, and empirical data regarding various treatment options.
Online reference resources
- MedlinePlus: AnxietyMedlinePlus is a free resource that contains a plethora of credible health information. Managed by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, this source has a topic page specifically devoted to anxiety and contains both background information and links to additional reputable resources. MedlinePlus also has a medical dictionary, which provides more information on specific types of anxiety disorders, and a dictionary of drugs, herbs, and supplements, which provides information about different types of treatments recommended to those with anxiety disorders.
- Britannica OnlineBritannica Online provides access to a broad, general knowledge encyclopedia. Use the main search bar to search "social anxiety disorder" for in-depth entries on this disorder.
- Credo ReferenceCredo Reference provides access to an assortment of encyclopedias and dictionaries. Use the main search bar to search "social anxiety disorder" for definitions and entries from across a wide number of reference sources.
- Mayo Clinic: Social anxiety disorderMayo Clinic is a nonprofit organization focused on clinical practice, education and research, and providing expert care to everyone in need. This website provides information on the symptoms and causes, as well as the diagnosis and treatment, of social anxiety disorder.
- PubMedManaged by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, PubMed contains both full-text journals and citations from biomedical and life sciences journals. Use the main search bar to search "social anxiety disorder" for scholarly research on this disorder.
Searching tips
Here are some common call number ranges and searches to assist you in finding similar resources. For more searching tips, please see the "Academic Resources" tab on this LibGuide.
Call numbers
- 152.46 (fear, anxiety, worry)
- 616.8522 (anxiety disorders)
Keyword searches
- "social anxiety"
- "anxiety disorders"
- "social phobia" OR "social anxiety disorder"
- "anxiety disorders" AND "social phobia"
- "anxiety disorders" AND "social anxiety disorder"
General mental health reference resources
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by ISBN: 9780890425756Publication Date: 2022-03-18The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013.
The Encyclopedia of Mental Health by Call Number: 616.89003 K122e2008ISBN: 9780816064540Publication Date: 2007-11-01This A-to-Z reference volume covers all aspects of general mental health topics, including definitions of theories, syndromes, symptoms, treatments, and contemporary issues.
The Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears, and Anxieties by Call Number: 616.852203 D659e2008ISBN: 9780816064533Publication Date: 2008-02-01This A-to-Z reference volume explains the meanings of terms and concepts related to specific phobias, anxieties and fears, and forms of therapy and medicines. It also identifies key researchers in the field.
- Gale Encyclopedia of Mental HealthCall Number: UIUC Online Collection
ISBN: 9781414490120
Publication Date: 2012-05-25
"The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Health presents authoritative and comprehensive information on 500 topics in mental health, including diseases and disorders, drugs, alternative treatments, psychiatric assessments, and related concepts. Written in language accessible to adult laypersons, it aims to fill the gap between basic consumer resources and highly technical professional materials such as the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM).