LibGuides: Modern Greek Studies Library Guide: Business

Business Information Services Virtual Library

The Business Information Services Library is a virtual library that provides access to multiple databases, resources, and e-journals for the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The subjects they focus on include:

Accounting
Business Administration
Economics
Finance
Labor/Employment Relations

To contact the library for assistance from faculty and library staff, please e-mail them at bis@library.illinois.edu. You can also contact librarians, information services, or collection services by visiting the people page.

Subject Headings related to Greece and Business

These subject headings can be used to search our library catalog using a "Subject" search. All subject headings are from the Library of Congress.

Greece--Economic conditions

Greece--Economic Conditions--Periodicals

Greece--Economic policy

Industrial Policy--Greece

Trade Regulation--Greece

Economic stabilization--Greece

Finance--Greece

Online Databases

ABI Inform Complete
This database collects journals and content that is dedicated to research in a wide variety of topics including international business.

Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Alternate Access Link
EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides citations for articles and dissertations in more than 620 journals, books, and working papers on economics, plus full text for more than 560 journals, including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo.
Alternate Access Link

The Economist
This database allows you to search through articles in the magazine, the Economist, from 1988 to the present.

Emerging Markets Information Service (EMIS) This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as ISI Emerging Markets. Multilingual collection of news and information sources about the emerging markets of selected countries in Latin America, Europe, Asia, the Middle East, and North Africa. Includes full-text primary news sources, financial data, statistics, and legal information. U of I users may click the "Go" button under Guest Access to start using the database, OR register a personal account for a more customized experience.
Global Commodities This link opens in a new window
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of global commodities in world history. The commodities featured in this resource have been transported, exchanged and consumed around the world for hundreds of years. They helped transform societies, global trading operations, habits of consumption and social practices.
Hoover's Academic Pro This link opens in a new window
If you get an error message when trying to connect to Hoover's off campus, please try an incognito window. Delivers company, executive officer, and industry information in a searchable database. Includes parent, subsidiary, branch and competitor information.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.
International Directory of Company Histories This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed histories of many of the largest and most influential companies worldwide. Intended for reference use by students, business persons, librarians, historians, economists, investors, job candidates, and others who want to learn more about the historical development of the world's most important companies.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
The PAIS Archive includes carefully selected resources to help users identify and locate information about significant political, economic, social and cultural issues affecting international and local communities, countries, governments and society. Its broad topical scope and retrospective coverage complement more specialized databases that cover the humanities, health care, agriculture, sociology, history, and many other disciplines, providing historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies. Also, the PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics, and the original historical subject headings have been retained within the file for enhanced searching capabilities.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
Database of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.
Note that all users must create an account using their University of Illinois email address to access this database.