Duolingo is a free (yes, free!) language learning application that you can use on your computer or your mobile device. The app uses a game-like system to aid learning, letting you accumulate points for every correct answer, and even allowing you to compete against your friends. Small, short lessons make up a majority of Duolingo exercises, and the more you use the app, the more personalized your lessons become. There are a variety of languages available (with more being added every day), and no limit to how many you can learn! Best of all, you can practice your language skills wherever and whenever you want! Good for vocabulary practice mainly, not for honing communication skills.

Mondly is a free app that uses course materials, chatbots, and augmented reality to aid the language learning process. They have 33 languages to choose from, and even allows you to learn a new language using your native language, instead of from English. This is relatively unique amongst language apps. The free version of Mondly gives you a daily lesson as well as seven other "Hello" lessons. Like Duolingo, Mondly awards you points for correct answers, even ranking you among other users in a friendly competition.

Drops is a free app that uses game-style mechanics to help you learn the language. The short, five minute lessons combine aesthetically pleasing word games with mnemonic devices. Drops also has a companion app, called Scripts, for learning character-based languages (or languages with a different writing system). While the basic app is free, there are also subscription options for more features. In addition to accessing the app on your device, you may also try it in your browser or download it to your computer.

Access for Apple Devices        Access for Android Devices

The Collins translator is a quick and easy translating tool. It will autodetect the language you're looking to translate from and will let you speak the word or phrase you wish to know using your microphone. There's also access to dictionary, thesaurus, and grammar tools.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online provides users with dictionaries for nine different languages, including Italian. You can search for a word in either English or Italian, with the ability to hear the pronunciation, too. There's also access to extra tools to help you learn Italian, including grammar guides and notes, writing help, and information about the culture of Italy, major celebrations, and useful phrases.

Note: you will need to log-in using your netid and password if you don't have the campus VPN downloaded.

Georgakas Dictionary of Demotic Greek: An extensive dictionary of Demotic Greek that provides definitions, etymologies, and usage examples for Modern Greek words. A valuable tool for linguists and language enthusiasts. Being an ongoing project only letter A is completed.

Triantafyllides Dictionary: Provides access to the Triantafyllides Dictionary, a comprehensive resource for Modern Greek language learners and scholars, offering definitions, usage examples, and grammatical information. Unfortunately, it is not available in English.

Forvo is a free, online pronunciation dictionary. Users can upload audio of their pronunciations of various words; in fact, there are over six million words in more than 390 languages available through the website. To find the pronunciation for a word, you have several options: you can do a quick search from the front page, or you can specify which language the word comes from, and then search within those parameters.

Reverse Dictionary of Modern Greek: A tool for exploring Modern Greek words by their suffixes and endings, useful for linguistic analysis and language study. Unfortunately, it is not available in English.

Credo Reference – Greek Resources: An online platform providing access to a variety of reference materials, including books and encyclopedias related to Greek language, culture, and history.

Oxford Reference – The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium: A reference work on Byzantine history, culture, and society, covering topics such as art, religion, politics, and daily life during the Byzantine Empire. Accessible through Oxford Reference for in-depth scholarly research.

Compounding in Modern Greek : One of the core challenges in linguistics is elucidating compounds--their formation as well as the reasons their structure varies between languages. This book on Modern Greek rises to the challenge with a meticulous treatment of its diverse, intricate compounds, a study as grounded in theory as it is rich in data.

Cool Modern Greek Verb Conjugator : This website provides a conjugation tool, and acknowledges that impreciseness is a possibility.

Greek-BBC Languages: This web resource, while no longer updated, provides information and resources for beginning Greek language learners.

Greek/Lingvopedia: Lingvopedia provides informational insight into languages. This page specifically focuses on the Modern Greek language.

Greek Grammar (in English): This website offers resources to understand the different aspects of Modern Greek grammar.

Greek Verbs: an Introduction for the Learner: This guide is primarily about verbs in Modern Greek, but it also gives information about verbs in Ancient Greek. It is a learner-oriented text, and constitutes part of the author's pages on the grammar of the Greek language.

IE, Hellenic: Modern Greek-The Oxford Handbook of Compounding: An online resource for Oxford University Publishing that discusses language compounding. This particular article focuses on Greek Compounding. A UIUC NetID is required for access.

Lexiscope-Neurolingo: Explores linguistic information about the origin of Modern Greek words.