Associated Library
Music and Performing Arts Library
- Phone: 217-333-1173
- Email: mpal@library.illinois.edu
- 1300 Music Building
- 1114 West Nevada Street
- Urbana IL 61801
Suggested Subject Headings
These subject headings can be used to search our library catalog using a "Subject" search. All subject headings are from the Library of Congress.
Music, Greek and Roman
Music-Greece
Greece--Songs and Music
Songs, Greece
Folk Music--Greece
Popular Music--Greece
Music, Greek and Roman-History and Criticism
Instrumental Music--Greece
Popular Music--Greece--History and criticism
Popular Instrumental Music--Greece
Folk Songs, Greek (Modern)
Databases and Online Resources
IMSLP/Petrucci: This database allows users to search through a variety of music in the public domain.
MusRef: This online resource is a site devoted to music and dance bibliography and reference.
ViFaMusik: This resource provides access to an extensive digital library containing the latest scholarly research and online resources on music and musicology.
The Harvard Dictionary of Music: This reference source includes entries on all the styles and forms in Western music; comprehensive articles on the music of Africa, Asia, Latin America, and the Near East; descriptions of instruments enriched by historical background; and articles that reflect today's beat, including popular music, jazz, and rock.
RISM Online Catalogue of Musical Sources: This online resource is an international, non-profit organization which aims for comprehensive documentation of extant musical sources worldwide. These primary sources are manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians: This reference resource is a comprehensive and authoritative information resource on musicians, and it iincludes interesting and insightful evaluations of their contributions to the musical world.
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music: This volume brings together all the pertinent biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today.
- Music Index This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Music Index in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for every aspect of the classical and popular world of music including musicological and organological topics, as well as book reviews, record reviews, first performances, and obituaries from more than 850 music periodicals from over 40 countries.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: RILM Abstracts of Music Literature in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive bibliography on writings about music featuring citations, abstracts and indexes. It covers nearly one and a half million publications from around the world on traditional music, popular music, jazz, classical music and related subjects. Coverage begins in the early 19th century and extends to the present.
- RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). An index to more than eighty historical music periodicals in thirteen languages, published primarily in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. (RIPM is the acronym for Répertoire international de la presse musicale.)
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Music Online (OMO) is the access-point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music. With OMO patrons can cross-search Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Articles from specialist dictionaries such as The New Grove Dictionary of Opera and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed., are available via OMO.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music This link opens in a new windowThe Garland encyclopedia of world music online is a comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world's peoples. Each volume contains an overview of a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include detailed photographs that show musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Other images include drawings, maps, and musical examples for further study. Contains the entire set of 10 print volumes (over 9,200 pages) as well as complete indexing for genre, subject, instrument, place, person, ensemble, and cultural group, as well as links to the associated audio examples for each volume.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.
