LibGuides: Modern Greek Studies Library Guide: Literature

Associated Libraries

Phone: 217-333-2220
Email: litlan@library.illinois.edu
200 & 225 Main Library
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana IL 61801

Classics Library Collection at the Literatures and Languages Library

Phone: 217-333-2220
Email: classics@library.illinois.edu
225 Main Library
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana IL 61801

Databases and Online Resources

Encyclopedia of Literary Modernism: This online reference tool concerns the Modernist period of literature (1890-1939) with a focus on Europe.

Literature Compass: This journal focuses on literary criticism and research done in the field of literary studies.

A Companion to Greek Literature: This database presents a comprehensive introduction to the wide range of texts and literary forms produced in the Greek language over the course of a millennium beginning from the 6th century BCE up to the early years of the Byzantine Empire.

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry This link opens in a new window
Index to poetry, including full-text and excerpts of some poems. This online version contains the contents of the following works: Columbia Granger's index to poetry in anthologies (eds. 8-11), Columbia Granger's index to poetry in collected and selected works, Columbia Granger's guide to poetry anthologies (2nd ed.), Columbia Granger's dictionary of poetry quotations, Classic hundred poems, as well as new content not published previously in print
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Part of Gale Literature Criticism Online. LCO covers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres, offering tens of thousands of hard-to-find critical essays. Database subscriptions may include any or all of the following titles, based on subscriber preferences: Contemporary literary criticism; Twentieth-Century literary criticism; Nineteenth-Century literature criticism; Literature criticism from 1400-1800; Shakespearean criticism; Classical and medieval literature criticism; Poetry criticism; Short story criticism; Drama criticism; and Children's literature review.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of full-text articles, essays, book reviews, plot summaries, poems, short stories, plays, and interviews with contemporary writers.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: MLA International Bibliography in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches).Indexes critical materials on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore. Proved access to citations from worldwide publications, including periodicals, books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations and bibliographies.
Alternate Access Link

Suggested Subject Headings

These subject headings can be used to search our library catalog using a "Subject" search. All subject headings are from the Library of Congress.

Greek Literature

Didactic literature, Greek

Folk Literature, Greek

Greek drama

Greek fiction

Greek letters

Greek poetry

Greek prose literature

Pastoral Literature, Greek

Greek Literature--Criticism, Textual

Greek Literature--Study and Teaching

Greek Literature-Themes, motives

Greek Literature, Modern

Children's literature, Greek (Modern)

Greek American Literature

Revolutionary Literature, Greek (Modern)

Young adult literature, Greek (Modern)

English literature--Greek authors