Related Libraries
Music and Performing Arts Library
- Phone: 217-333-1173
- Email: mpal@illinois.edu
- 1300 Music Building
- 1114 West Nevada Street
- Urbana IL 61801
Social Sciences, Health and Education Library
- Phone: 217-244-1864
- Email: sshel@library.illinois.edu
- 100 & 101 Main Library
- 1408 West Gregory Drive
- Urbana IL 61801
Suggested Subject Headings
These subject headings can be used to search our library catalog using a "Subject" search. All subject headings are from the Library of Congress.
Dance--Greek
Dance--Greece
Folk dancing--Greek
Dance Music--Greek
Online Video Resources
-
Digital Theatre+ : See plays and productions, watch interviews with practitioners, and learn through videos on theory and criticism.
-
Ethnographic Video Online: Four volumes through Alexander Street; search for videos by culture to narrow down to Greek films.
-
Jerome Robbins Dance Division Moving Image Archive (via NYPL Digital Collections): Offers dance videos, searchable by composer, dancer, choreographer, producer, place, and more.
Databases and Online Resources
The International Encyclopedia of Dance: With nearly 2,000 articles written by scholars from fifty countries, the Encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of dance—theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance.
Biographical Dictionary of Dance: Reference available on the Reference Shelves and the Library for Music and Performing Arts
International Dance Council: Supported by UNESCO, this database highlights dance throughout the world.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa. - International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance as well as full text for 100 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Additional full text available includes more than 50 books & monographs.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowThis database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes almost a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. Performing Arts Periodicals Database covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Coverage: 1864 - current - RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: RILM Abstracts of Music Literature in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive bibliography on writings about music featuring citations, abstracts and indexes. It covers nearly one and a half million publications from around the world on traditional music, popular music, jazz, classical music and related subjects. Coverage begins in the early 19th century and extends to the present.
- Dance in Video: Volumes I, II & III This link opens in a new windowDance in Video contains dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Selections cover ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, and improvisational dance, as well as forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.
