History
This page is dedicated to Greek history and religion. For Ancient Greek history, see the Ancient History libguide. Click the following links for easier navigation around the page:
- Online Reference - Greek History Books in Catalog
- Select Online Collections - Multi-Subjects Indexes and Databases
- Greek History Online Reference Resources
Online Reference
All Subjects
- ABC-CLIOA collection of online reference texts that allow for a wide variety of quality texts for researchers. All texts are online. A UIUC ID is required.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowAccess to: over 75,000 articles from the Encyclopædia Britannica; headlines from the New York Times, the BBC, the SBS Australian News Service, and full-text articles from more than 700 magazines and periodicals provided by EBSCO and Proquest; World data; Gateway to the classics; 166,000 Web sites selected by Britannica editors; over 27,000 images and maps, plus 3,300 animations, videos, and audio files; and world atlas.
- Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowGale eBooks, formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library, offers a collection of premier reference and handbooks that you can view and search online, covering a variety of subject areas.
- Oxford ReferenceOxford Reference contains reliable information on a wide variety of subjects. It is recommended to narrow your search to the subject "History" for specific resources related to historical topics.
History Reference
- History-University of Illinois eReferenceThis list compiled by UIUC Reference contains a collection of history databases. The focus is on American history, but some resources have a more global focus.
Multi-Subjects Indexes and Databases
All Subjects
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowUpdated weekly. Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology. Every report is written by an experienced journalist and features comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue with numerous charts, graphs and sidebar articles.
- Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective This link opens in a new window
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa. - IBZ Online - International Bibliography of Periodical Literature This link opens in a new windowUniversal index of periodical literature covering basic research from all fields of knowledge, and is particularly strong in the humanities and the social sciences. Over 11,500 periodicals are indexed by this multilingual database, now containing over 3.2 million records. It is international in scope, and indexes a significant proportion the the periodicals published on the European continent.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. - Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
History
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
- History Indexes & DatabasesMaintained by the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library, this resource allows users to search through various databases for information related to history.
Subject Headings Related to History
These subject headings can be used to search our library catalog using a "Subject" search. All subject headings are from the Library of Congress.
- Greece--History
- Greece--History--to 146 B.C.
- Greece--History--146 B.C.-323 A.D.
- Greece--History--323-1453
- Greece--History--1453-1821
- Greece--History--19th century
- Greece--History--20th century
- Greece--History--1917-1944
- Greece--History--Occupation, 1941-1944
- Greece--History--Civil War, 1944-1949
- Greece--History--1950-1967
- Greece--History--1967-1974
- Greece--History--1974-
- Greece--History--21st century
Greek History Books in Catalog
The Edinburgh History of the Greeks 1768 to 1913 by Call Number: [Main Stacks] 949.5072 G135ePublication Date: 2015Summary from catalog: Often referred to as the "Long Nineteenth Century" this period witnessed the establishment of a Greek nation-state which had a profound impact on the Greeks everywhere.
Innovatively situating the story of the Greeks into a broader Ottoman and Mediterranean context, Thomas Gallant presents the most in-depth exploration of Greek society and culture available in any language. This is a substantive and original contribution to the study of the Greek people during the Modern period.
Modern Greece by Call Number: [History, Philosophy, Newspaper] 949.507 G135mPublication Date: 2001Summary from catalog: This book is a concise history of the rich and varied experience of Greece and the Greeks over the past two centuries. It focuses on the forces and events that have shaped the country and its people, including urbanization, economic development, modernization, and cultural change.
- Clear, cogent, and original history of modern Greece
- Develops its themes within a clear chronological framework
- Introduces readers to a new paradigms in Greek history.
National Histories, Natural States by Call Number: [Main Stacks] 949.507 P337nPublication Date: 2001Summary from catalog: Recent conflicts in Southeast Europe have drawn attention to the close relationship between place and national identity. Robert Shannan Peckham explores the conscious linkage between identity and homeland as this was articulated in 19th and early 20th-century Greece, a period formative of the present Balkan crisis.
The particularities of place, Peckham argues, were construed both as underpinning a territorial expansion and as a resistance to the homogenizing drive of a state-sponsored nationalism. This book makes an innovative theoretical contribution to the ongoing debate on nationalism and nationhood.
Women and Nationalism in the Making of Modern Greece by Call Number: OnlinePublication Date: 2009Summary from catalog: This pioneering book reveals how nationalism in Ninteenth-century Greece helped women to develop an alternative vision of female politics, history, and citizenship. Shedding new light on women's ideas and beliefs the author brings to life the story of the ideas that formed our societies and individual identities.
Modern Greece : a history since 1821 by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781444314823Publication Date: 2010Modern Greece: A History since 1821 is a chronological account of the political, economic, social, and cultural history of Greece, from the birth of the Greek state in 1821 to 2008 by two leading authorities.
- Pioneering and wide-ranging study of modern Greece, which incorporates the most recent Greek scholarship
- Sets the history of modern Greece within the context of a broad geo-political framework
- Includes detailed portraits of leading Greek politicians
- Provides in-depth considerations on the profound economic and social changes that have occurred as a result of Greece's EU membership
History's Spoiled Children by Call Number: [History, Philosophy, Newspaper Library] 949.507 K848k:EISBN: 9780190846411Publication Date: 2018-04-15History's Spoiled Children is the story of a small Ottoman province and its transformation into a modern European state. In some respects, the challenges to the formation of the Greek state could be likened to those encountered by the Western world in its efforts to impose itspolitico-cultural model on societies foreign to it. Though the Greeks of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries were Christians whereas the societies subject to Western experimentation today are Muslim, the political venture known as modernization has treated both as civilizing projects and in noway as equal partners. However, there is one distinction that cannot be ignored. Western Europeans regard Greece and Greeks as foundational in their own history. With this in mind, one may better understand the West's (more or less) particular treatment of these populations, which not only rebelledagainst the Ottoman Empire in the name of Christianity but also invoked connections to an ancient past in which Europe sees the roots of its own identity. Kostas Kostis explores this perception and traces the formation of this favored modern nation, dubbed in nineteenth-century Europe the ''spoiledchildren of history'.- A Short History of Modern Greece byCall Number: [Main Stacks] 949.5 C62s1986Publication Date: 1986This history surveys the history of the Greek people from the declining years of the Byzantine Empire to the late twentieth-century. The second edition includes a topical chapter to bring the account up to the late 1980s.
After the War Was Over by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781400884438Publication Date: 2016-09-29This volume makes available some of the most exciting research currently underway into Greek society after Liberation. Together, its essays map a new social history of Greece in the 1940s and 1950s, a period in which the country grappled--bloodily--with foreign occupation and intense civil conflict.
Hellenisms by Call Number: [Classics Library] 305.88 H367ISBN: 9780754665250Publication Date: 2008-09-28The specific contribution of this volume lies in the fact that it problematizes the fluidity of Hellenism and offers a much-needed public dialogue between disparate viewpoints, in the process making a case for the existence and viability of such a polyphony. The chapters in this volume offer a reorientation of the study of Hellenism away from a binary perception to approaches giving priority to fluidity, hybridity, and multi-vocality.
The volume also deals with issues of recycling tradition, cultural category, and perceptions of ethnicity. Topics explored range from European Philhellenism to Hellenic Hellenism, from the Athens 2004 Olympics to Greek cinema, from a psychoanalytical engagement with anthropological material to a subtle ethnographic analysis of Greek-American women's material culture. The readership envisaged is both academic and non-specialist; with this aim in mind, all quotations from ancient and modern sources in foreign languages have been translated into English.
Enlightenment and Revolution by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780674726413Publication Date: 2013-11-05Paschalis Kitromilides takes in the vast sweep of the Greek Enlightenment in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries, assessing developments such as the translation of modern authors into Greek; the scientific revolution; the rediscovery of the civilization of classical Greece; and a powerful countermovement.
He shows how Greek thinkers such as Voulgaris and Korais converged with currents of the European Enlightenment, and demonstrates how the Enlightenment's confrontation with Church-sanctioned ideologies shaped present-day Greece.
Select Online Collections
Find text and media related to Greek history, art, and culture here:
Archives Portal Europe--provides access to finding aids and some full-text achival documents for archives throughout Europe.
Europeana--Europeana is a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.
The European Library--The European Library is an aggreate of digital and physical holdings of 48 European national libraries plus a number of research libraries.
Greek History Online Reference Resources
- Encyclopedia of European Social HistoryThis reference resource is focused on Europe and the variety of social and cultural history of various regions. Topics about Greece include government, literacy, education, and gender.
- The Encyclopedia of World HistoryAs the title of this reference resource suggests, this resource covers world history. Topics of note regarding Greece include the Ancient period, the Modern Period, The World Wars Period, and the Contemporary Period.
Greek Philosophy
Philosophy Librarian (History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library): Celestina Savonius-Wroth
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews published worldwide since 1940. Topics covered include aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.
- Dictionary of World PhilosophyThe Dictionary of World Philosophy covers information about philosophies developed around the world. There are separate articles on Greek philosophy as well as the Grecian influence on other philosophy studies.
- Modern Greek philosophers on the human soul; selections from the writings of five representative thinkers of Modern Greece on the nature and immortality of the soul. byCall Number: [Main Stacks]128 C31MECPublication Date: [1967]Selections from the writings of seven representative thinkers of modern Greece: Benjamin of Lesvos, P. Vrailas-Armenis, I. Skaltsounis, St. Nectarios of Aegina, N. Louvaris, Ph. Kontoglou, and I.N. Theodorakopoulos—on the human soul: its existence, freedom, powers and immortality.
Greek Religion
Religious Studies Resources (History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library)
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials This link opens in a new window
The ATLA Religion Database is a comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. The file contains citations from international titles and 13,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. It also includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews, and Doctor of Ministry projects from ATLA's print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). Though coverage is from 1949 to the present, not all publications began in 1949.
- The Greenhaven Encyclopedia of Greek and Roman MythologyThis reference text focuses specifically on mythology related to Ancient Greek and Roman culture. Information in this text covers important figures, locations and myths.
- Worldmark Encyclopedia of Religious PracticesThis text examines modern day religion practices in the world. Greek Catholicism, Greek Evangelical Church, Greek Catholic Unionism, and the Greek Orthodox Church are all included.
Fabrications of the Greek Past by Call Number: [Location: Lit and Lang - Classics] Call Number: 292.080722 T644fISBN: 9789004348608Publication Date: 2017-06-21Taking seriously critiques of historiography produced in recent decades, Vaia Touna advocates for an alternative approach to the way the past is studied. From Euripides' tragedy Hippolytus, to the notion of voluntary associations in the Greco-Roman world, to the authenticity of traditional villages in Greece, Fabrications of the Greek Past argues that meanings (and thus identities) do not transcend time and space, and neither do they hide deep in the core of material artifacts, awaiting to be discovered by the careful interpreter. Instead, this book demonstrates that meanings are always relative to their present-day context; they are historical products created by social actors through their ever-contemporary acts of identification. ---- "By disturbing the notion of an easily knowable Greek past, Touna makes an invaluable contribution to critical scholarship regarding ancient cultures and to contemporary theory about ideological uses of history." - Naomi Goldenberg, University of Ottawa "From an insider to Greek tradition, expert in its modern appropriations and translations, Fabrications is an important stimulus to metatheory and self-reflexivity in the study of religion, ancient and contemporary." - Gerhard van den Heever, University of South Africa "Vaia Touna expertly dissects modern discourses on the past, arguing that our contemporary interests don't just color our accounts of the past, they constitute them. A fantastic book." - Brent Nongbri, author of Before Religion: A History of a Modern Concept
Greek festivals, modern and ancient : a comparison of female and male values / by Call Number: [Location: Lit and Lang - Classics] Call Number: 394.2609495 H128g:EISBN: 9781443831505Publication Date: 2017"This volume represents a multi-faceted, cross-period product of fieldwork conducted in contemporary Greece in combination with ancient sources. Based on a comparative analysis of important religious festivals and life-cycle rituals, the book investigates the importance of cults connected with the Greek female sphere and its relation to the official male-dominated ideology. Within these festivals are encountered supplementary, complementary or competing ideologies connected with men and women, and it is shown that there is not a one-way power structure or male dominance within Greek culture, but rather competing powers linked to the two sexes and their respective spheres. In addition to gender, the book also explores the relationship between the "great" and "little" societies, in the form of official and popular religion. As such, it will serve to broaden the reader's knowledge of ancient, but also modern, society, because it concerns the relationship between various spheres of life which each possess their own competing and overlapping, but also co-existing, value-systems."
Websites
- Thomas R. Martin, An Overview of Classical Greek History from Mycenae to AlexanderThis link leads to the Perseus Tufts preservation of Thomas R. Martin's Overview of Classical Greek History, which covers the history (political, social and cultural) of Greece from approximately 1200 BC (the collapse of Mycenean civilisation) to 323 BC (the death of Alexander the Great).
- Daughters of Demeter by Marilyn A. KatzThis website is the full text of "Daughters of Demeter," a chapter in From Becoming Visible: Women in European History, ed. Bridenthal, Stuard and Wiener (Boston: Houghton, Mifflin and Co., 1998), pp. 47-75. This particular section focuses on Ancient Greece, specifically with regards to the lives of women in this period of history.
- Internet History SourcebookThe Internet History Sourcebooks are a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use. They are published by Paul Halsall of Fordham University. Includes links to textual sources, visual and auditory material.
The Greece section features complete text works of Herodotus, Thucydides, Aristotle, and others, as well as primary source texts concerning the Persian and Pelopponesian wars, Athenian Democracy, Sparta, religion, and other topics. The Sourcebook also has pages designed specifically to help teacher and students: Ancient History in the Movies, Using Primary Sources, andThe Nature of Historiography. - Greek History from Ancient to Modern TimesCreated for the Hellenism Network, the history of Greece is depicted through "an interactive timeline" that concerns Ancient Greece, the Byzantine period, the Ottoman Occupation, and Modern Greece.
- History of Greece: Primary DocumentsBYU has collected a variety of online resources that concern original documents and texts related to Greek History. These documents span from Ancient Greece to the present day.