Find articles and more
University Library licenses access to many literature databases that index a variety of scholarly materials (e.g., journal articles, book chapters, meeting proceedings, theses and dissertations, etc. depending on the database) for our UIUC student, faculty, and staff as well as local users in any of our libraries.
Some literature databases are subject-focused, some are multidisciplinary. The following are several that may be of interest for Planning scholarship.
For access to a complete list, see our A-Z List of Databases.
Databases
- Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Garden, Landscape & Horticulture Index in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Indexes articles about gardens and plants. Topics include horticulture, botany, garden and landscape design & history, ecology, plant and garden conservation, garden management, and horticultural therapy. A highlight of the database is its focus on environmentally sustainable horticultural and design practices. Designed for gardening enthusiasts, professionals, and students of horticulture and of garden and landscape design and history.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowScopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Academic Search Ultimate in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
- Access Engineering This link opens in a new windowDelivers comprehensive authoritative information that accelerates research and innovation, and features content from a broad range of must-have McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook, Standard Handbook for Electrical Engineers, Roark's Formulas for Stress and Strain, and many more. AccessEngineering offers the widest and deepest repository of fully searchable engineering content available online - from the authors and industry-leading titles engineers have trusted and depended on for years.
- Agricola on Ovid This link opens in a new windowThe records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: America: History & Life with Full Text in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowCovers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience. Features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more.
- Art Index Retrospective This link opens in a new windowArt Index Retrospective provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. Art Index Retrospective cites sources published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well as English. In addition to periodicals, users will find data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowARTstor is a database of digital images, that is updated several times a year. It covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture.
- ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts This link opens in a new windowThis database provides extensive coverage of research on aquatic organisms for scientists researching the world's living aquatic resources. Marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, and legal, policy and socioeconomic issues. ProQuest Deep Indexing: Aquatic Sciences supplements ASFA with access to over a million indexed charts, figures, graphs, maps, photographs, and tables from the scholarly research and technical literature.
- Biological Abstracts (BIOSIS) This link opens in a new windowContains bibliographical references with abstracts in English from life sciences research journals published worldwide.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Business Source Ultimate in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Provides bibliographic and full text content, including indexing and abstracts for scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 and full text journal articles in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. The database full text content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
- CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCAB Abstracts is a bibliographic database covering research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources from 1910 to date. Also available on the CABI Digital Library platform.
- Compendex This link opens in a new windowCompendex is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
- Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new windowDesign and applied arts index (DAAI) is a source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century. Surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewelry, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, and interior design. As well as, architecture, computer aided design, web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowProvides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature as well as to patents, standards and handbooks (Compendex, US Patents, Inspec, EP Patents, NTIS, WO Patents, GEOBASE, and GeoRef).
- First Research This link opens in a new windowProvides profiles for over 700 industries in the United States and Canada
- Forest Service Enterprise Data This link opens in a new windowMaintained by the US Forest Service this open access database is an index to publications on parks, park services and land use issues and includes maps as well as text based resources.
- GEOBASE This link opens in a new windowGEOBASE is a multidisciplinary database, covering from 1980 to present, supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for development studies, the Earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, and oceanography. The database provides current coverage of almost 2,000 international journals, including both peer-reviewed titles and trade publications.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowGeoRef contains citations and abstracts to journals in 40 languages as well as new books, maps, conference papers, reports, dissertations, and theses. It covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Major areas of coverage include areal geology, economic geology, engineering geology, environmental geology, extraterrestrial geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mathematical geology, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, stratigraphy, structural geology, surficial geology
- Hospitality & Tourism Index This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Hospitality & Tourism Index in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). Bibliographic database providing access to scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Combines the records of three collections: Cornell University's former Hospitality database (previously unavailable for public use), Articles in hospitality and tourism, and the Lodging, restaurant & tourism index.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new windowDatabase providing access to bibliographic citations and abstracts of the scientific and technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, information technology, manufacturing and production engineering. Material covered includes journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, patents and books published around the world.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis. The University of Illinois has access to the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa. - Material ConneXion This link opens in a new windowMaterial ConneXion is a database of materials used in architecture and design. Users have unlimited access to comprehensive product information, technical specifications, application information, manufacturer and distributor contact information, and images for each of the materials and processes. Searchable by product, process, and application.
- National Technical Information Service (NTIS) This link opens in a new windowThe preeminent resource for accessing the latest U.S. government-sponsored research and worldwide scientific, technical, engineering, and business-related information
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFeatures more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Art Online enables access and cross-search functionality to Grove and Oxford reference content in one location. Provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowThe PAIS Archive includes carefully selected resources to help users identify and locate information about significant political, economic, social and cultural issues affecting international and local communities, countries, governments and society. Its broad topical scope and retrospective coverage complement more specialized databases that cover the humanities, health care, agriculture, sociology, history, and many other disciplines, providing historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies. Also, the PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics, and the original historical subject headings have been retained within the file for enhanced searching capabilities.
- Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Periodicals Archive Online is a major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences available electronically, providing access to the searchable full text of hundreds of titles. The database spans more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages. - ProQuest Government Periodicals Index This link opens in a new windowIdentifies government periodicals. The user can retrieve bibliographic information by searching for the periodical title, SuDoc number, GPO item number, or ISSN number, or the user can browse the list of all publications. Information provided includes dates of coverage for the periodical indexed. The coverage date information is updated quarterly.
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. These include abortion, criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological theory, addiction, violence and many others.
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides citations from 1952 to the present to journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Major areas of coverage include culture and social structure; demography and human biology; economic development; environmental interactions; evaluation research; family and social welfare; health and medicine and law; history and theory of sociology; management and complex organizations; mass phenomena and political interactions; methodology and research technology; policy, planning, forecast and speculation; radical sociology; religion and science; rural and urban sociology; social development; social differentiation; social psychology and group interaction; sociology of the arts, business, education; studies in violence and power; substance abuse and addiction; welfare services; women's studies.
- TRID: The TRIS and ITRD Database This link opens in a new windowContains more than 650,000 records of published research covering all modes and disciplines of transportation. This database combines the records of the Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre's International Transport Resource Documentation (TRID) Database.
- Urban Studies Abstracts This link opens in a new windowUrban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
- Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new windowWeb of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
