A Guide for the Idealist: Launching and Navigating your Planning CareerA Guide for the Idealistis a must for young professionals seeking to put their idealism to work. Speaking to urban and regional planners and those in related fields, the book provides tools for the reader to make good choices, practice effectively, and find meaning in planning work. Built around concepts of idealism and realism, the book takes on the gap between the expectations and the constraints of practice. How to make an impact? How to decide when to compromise and when to fight for a core value? The book advises on career "launching" issues: doubt, decision-making, assessing types of work and work settings, and career planning. Then it explains principled adaptabilityas professional style. Subsequent chapters address early-practice issues: being right, avoiding wrong, navigating managers, organizations and teams, working with mentors, and understanding the career journey. Underpinning these dimensions is a call for planners to reflect on what they are doing as they are doing it. The advice provided is based on the experience of a planning professor who has also practiced planning throughout his career. The book includes personal anecdotes from the author and other planners about how they launched and managed their careers, and discussion/reflection questions for the reader to consider.
Publication Date: 2018
Handbook of Methods for Architecture and Urban DesignA follow-up to the original German edition published in 2013, this first English edition offers a new foreword by Oya Atalay Franck, who writes, Perhaps it is precisely the deceitful nature of architectural problems that make the profession so interesting, that lets architects find new answers to the seemingly same questions time and again. Compiled by the Institute Urban Landscape of the School of Architecture, Design, and Civil Engineering at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences, this guide permits two levels of reading. Firstly, it offers a selective interrogation of specific methods in real-world applications. Secondly, it is an examination of the methods themselves. A follow-up to the original German edition published in 2013, this first English edition offers a new foreword by Oya Atalay Franck, who writes, Perhaps it is precisely the deceitful nature of architectural problems that make the profession so interesting, that lets architects find new answers to the seemingly same questions time and again. Compiled by the Institute Urban Landscape of the School of Architecture, Design, and Civil Engineering at the Zurich University of Applied Sciences, this guide permits two levels of reading. Firstly, it offers a selective interrogation of specific methods in real-world applications. Secondly, it is an examination of the methods themselves.
The Routledge Handbook of Planning TheoryThe Routledge Handbook of Planning Theory presents key contemporary themes in planning theory through the views of some of the most innovative thinkers in planning. They introduce and explore their own specialized areas of planning theory, to conceptualize their contemporary positions and to speculate how these positions are likely to evolve and change as new challenges emerge. In a changing and often unpredictable globalised world, planning theory is core to understanding how planning and its practices both function and evolve. As illustrated in this book, planning and its many roles have changed profoundly over the recent decades; so have the theories, both critical and explanatory, about its practices, values and knowledges. In the context of these changes, and to contribute to the development of planning research, this handbook identifies and introduces the cutting edge, and the new emerging trajectories, of contemporary planning theory. The aim is to provide the reader with key insights into not just contemporary planning thought, but potential future directions of both planning theory and planning as a whole. This book is written for an international readership, and includes planning theories which address, or have emerged from, both the global North and parts of the world beyond.
Publication Date: 2017
Planning TheoryIn the 3rd edition of the leading introductory textbook to planning theory, Allmendinger provides a wide-ranging and up-to-date analysis of planning theories, how these relate to planning practice, and their significance. Moving away from a linear, chronological model of progress over time from one paradigm to another, Allmendinger explains how and why different theories have gained dominance in particular places at particular times, giving the reader a holistic view of the field of scholarship and to demonstrate the relevance of planning theory for practise. Planning theory has undergone significant changes in recent decades as new theories and perspectives have emerged. Allmendigner takes care to detail the historical evolution of planning theory and the key philosophical issues involved so as enable the reader to both understand and critique theories as they encounter them. This much revised edition of Philip Allmendinger's text draws upon both established theories and expands its scope of current thinking around neoliberalism, post-colonialism and post-structuralist thinking on politics, space and scale. This unique approach to planning theory means this is an essential for all students completing planning theory courses in Urban or Planning studies, at both undergraduate and postgraduate level.
Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Landscape and Urban PlanningThis unique, multilingual, encyclopedic dictionary in two volumes covers terms regularly used in landscape and urban planning, as well as environmental protection. The languages are American and British English, Spanish (with many Latin-American equivalents), French, and German. The encyclopedia also provides various interpretations of the terms at the planning, legal or technical level, which make its meaning more precise and its usage clearer.
Publication Date: 2010
A Planners DictionaryThis dictionary, a revised an updated edition of the Planning Advisory Service's best selling Glossary of Zoning, Development, and Planning Terms, contains more than 4,200 terms used by planners around the nation. This new edition contains an introduction by Harvey Moscowitz, FAICP, chief editor of The Illustrated Book of Development Definitions, and Carl Lindbloom, AICP.Contributors include many APA Research Department staff, who culled hundreds of ordinances, plans, and planning documents to offer readers choices of definitions and commentaries that add depth and value to the dictionary. The report includes a CD-ROM in PDF format (requires Acrobat Reader, a free download from www.adobe.com) with a built-in search function, which greatly increases usability. A Planner's Dictionary is an essential desk reference.
Publication Date: 2004
Becoming an Urban PlannerThe essential guide to starting a career in urban planning If you're considering a career in urban planning or urban design, start with this highly visual guide to preparing for and succeeding in the profession. Through fascinating in-depth interviews with fifty of today's top planners, Becoming An Urban Planner gives you an inside view of what it takes to be an urban planner, including an overview of the profession, educational requirements, design specialties from which to choose, the job search, registration requirements, and the many directions in which a career in the field can go. Richly illustrated with photographs, drawings and sketches. Career profiles featuring a wide array of specialties and job types, traditional and non-traditional, public and private sector Fifty of today's top urban planning professionals explain their own career choices, talk about what they do, and offer advice for aspiring planners Answering the question, "What does an urban planner do?", Becoming an Urban Planner is a must have career guide for everyone considering or beginning a career in urban planning.
Publication Date: 2010
The Birth of City Planning in the United States, 1840-1917This long-awaited book by Jon A. Peterson presents a sweeping narrative history of the origins of city planning in the United States, from its nineteenth-century antecedents to its flowering in the early twentieth century. Deeply researched, well-written, and engaging, the text is supplemented by an outstanding selection of historic plans, illustrations, and photographs. Topics covered in detail include the McMillan Plan for Washington, D.C. (the first comprehensive plan for an American city), the City Beautiful movement, the major planners--Daniel Burnham, Frederick Law Olmsted, Jr., Charles Mulford Robinson, John Nolen, and others--who led the planning movement; the ascendancy of a generalist approach to the shaping of the physical city, the role of the Progressive Era reform, and the emergence of city planning as a novel field of public endeavor. This book will appeal to students and scholars in urban studies, community planning, American history (the Guilded Age and Progressive Era), American studies, architectural and landscape history, as well as environmental and planning history, including practicing professionals in related fields.
Find books and other materials at the University of Illinois and in other I-Share Libraries. You can toggle between searching our local catalog and searching all I-Share Libraries. Ebooks are included in the local catalog.
If you don't find the books you need in the University Library catalog or in IShare, you can search in any library worldwide using WorldCat. Interlibrary Loan requests can be placed directly from WorldCat.
Here are some sample searches in the University Library catalog and/or IShare.