Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Baltic Digital Collections: Digital Resources at Illinois

This guide provides digital resources to assist scholars studying the Baltic region. Included in the guide are both digital and digitized collections both from and about Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. The guide includes vernacular and English sources

Overview

This section includes databases and other digital resources accessible to University of Illinois library patrons. These resources provide access to current publications from and about the Baltic region including: periodicals, journal articles, digitized materials, dissertations, and book chapters.

Digital Resources Available through the University of Illinois Library

Central and Eastern European Online Library

CEEOL provides open access journals and e-books in the Humanities and Social Sciences about and from Central and Eastern Europe. The CEEOL collection includes publsihers from Latvia, Estonia, and Lithuania as well as additional Baltic language literature. Users can search for materials about the Baltic region or in the Baltic languages through browsing the databases subjects or keyword and language filters.

 

American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies

Publications related to Slavic and East European studies. Documents include articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union published in the United States and Canada. Users can search by language, subject and publisher to find texts related to the region.

 

Eastview - Baltics, Belarus, Moldova, Ukraine

Database of periodicals published in the Baltic States, primarily printed in Russian.  Most newspapers are up to date and provide insight for current events, news, and matters of national importance for the region.

 

Library PressReader

Instant access to 2200 newspapers from 97 countries in 54 languages! This database provides online, full-text, full-color access to newspapers published in Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. A list of countries is available in a scroll-down menu on the left-hand side of the main page. 

 

EMIS Intelligence

Full-text news articles, financial statements, industry analyses, equity quotes, macroeconomic statistics, and market-specific information, which are derived directly from local information providers, appear in both English and the local language. The list of Slavic and East European markets covered currently includes: Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania.

 

Hathi Trust: Digital Library

HathiTrust provides access to the digitized collections of 120 partnering institutions. These works included digitized materials in the Baltic languages and about the Baltic region. Users can search by language, subject, and publication location. However, in many cases bibliographic metadata such as publication date and location is not provided.