Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Baltic Digital Collections: International Sources for Baltic Subjects

This guide provides digital resources to assist scholars studying the Baltic region. Included in the guide are both digital and digitized collections both from and about Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. The guide includes vernacular and English sources

Overview

This section includes digital resources that provide access to Baltic Studies materials that were not created by Baltic institutions. The resources include both digital libraries that have received contributions from Baltic institutions (World Digital Library, Europeana) and institutions that hold Baltic materials in their collections (Fenno-Ugrica, Uralica).

International Resources

World Digital Library

The World Digital Library is a project by the Library of Congress to provide online access to primary materials from all countries. The digital library is an excellent tool for English language natives to search for materials from other nations. The collection includes contributions from the Latvian World Museum, National Library of Latvia, National Library of Russia, and Vilnius University Library. The collection also includes resources from the Library of Congress and other institutions about the Baltic Region. Users can search the collection by keyword or browse by institution, country, time period, etc.

Europeana

Europeana Collections provides online access to over 50 million digitized items from European archives. The collection includes contributions from the national libraries of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania as well as many other institutions from the Baltic region. Users can search the collection by keyword and refine their searches by providing country, language, and institution. Contributing institutions of note are: the Estonian National Heritage Board, Maironis Lithuanian Literature Museum, National Library of Estonia, National Library of Latvia and Lithuanian Art Museum.

Fenno-Ugrica

The National Library of Finland’s Fenno-Ugrica is a digital collection, which comprises digital materials published in Uralic languages. The Fenno-Ugrica collection includes more than 1500 monographs and over 110 newspaper and journal titles in 20 languages. The collection includes contributions in the Livonian language from the Institue of Estonian Language.

Uralica

The National Library of Finland’s Uralica is a publicly accessible resource that provides access to the digital collections of books, maps and recordings in the languages of the Uralic language family gathered from the collections of various libraries. Uralica provides many resources for the Livonian language and users can search by language, subject, and keyword.