English Today focuses on the English language and all aspects of it, including style, usage, dictionaries, literary language, Plain English, the Internet and language teaching. It discusses topics in terms of British, American and the world’s many other Englishes. The journal targets linguists, journalists, broadcasters, writers, publishers, teachers, students of the language and anyone with a professional or personal interest in communication. Articles are in English.

English World-Wide focuses on scholarly discussion of new findings related to the dialectology and sociolinguistics of the English-speaking communities (native and second-language speakers). It is also interested in general problems of variationist, general and historical sociolinguistics, pidgin and creole linguistics, language planning, and multilingualism. Modern historical sociolinguistics are included when they have a direct bearing on modern varieties of English. Articles are in English.

Esperanto is the periodical published by the Universal Esperanto Association. It showcases events related to Esperanto, latest published research, opinions, analyses, and decisions. Articles are in Esperanto.

Both Folia Linguistica and Folia Linguistica Historica are journals of the Societas Linguistica Europaea (SLE). Each volume consists of two issues of Folia Linguistica, one issue of Folia Linguistica Historica, and one Special Issue.

Folia Linguistica is devoted to empirically based linguistic topics and covers all non-historical areas in the traditional disciplines of general linguistics. FL focuses on sociological, discoursal, computational and psychological aspects of language and linguistic theory. Other areas of central concern are grammaticalization, language typology, and variation within and across languages.

Folia Linguistica Historica is exclusively devoted to empirically based diachronic linguistics of all language families (including both historical and comparative linguistics).

Guidelines for submission do not appear to have language limitations. Articles appear in English, French, German, and Italian.

The Forum for Modern Language Studies publishes articles addressing Arabic, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish, from the Middle Ages to the present day. The journal attempts to reflect the essential pluralism of research in modern languages and to provide a forum for worldwide scholarly discussion. Also included are submissions in comparative literature, theoretical linguistics, as well as those dealing with visual art, film and the performing arts. Articles are in English.

Grazer linguistische Studien (Graz Linguistic Studies) is the journal for linguistic research, primarily related to ongoing research at the University of Graz. Articles are in German.

Historiographia Linguistica is concerned with the history of sciences relating to language, including linguistics, philology, anthropology, sociology, pedagogy, psychology, neurology, and other disciplines. The central objectives are to present the origin and development of particular ideas, concepts, methods, schools of thought or trends, and the discussion of the methodological and philosophical foundations of a historiography of the language sciences, including its relationship with the history and philosophy of science. Articles are in English, French, German, and occasionally other languages.

The IALLT Journal of Language Learning Technologies is a publication of the International Association for Language Learning Technology. It is focused on research and review articles related to technology with respect to language teaching, learning, and or/research. The majority of the submissions are case study ethnographies, quasi-experimental classroom research or emerging technology reviews. Articles are in English.

Intercultural Pragmatics focuses on theoretical and applied pragmatics research. The journal promotes the development and understanding of pragmatic theory and intercultural competence. It makes an effort to cross disciplinary boundaries between anthropology, theoretical and applied linguistics, psychology, communication, sociolinguistics, second language acquisition, and bi- and multilingualism. Articles are in English.

The IJAL focuses on American Indigenous languages of North and South America.
Articles are in English and Spanish.

IJL is concerned with topics in lexicography, including issues of design, compilation and use, and with dictionaries of all languages, though the chief focus is on dictionaries of the major European languages, monolingual and bilingual, synchronic and diachronic, pedagogical and encyclopedic. Articles in French, German, and English.

The International Journal of the Society of Language focuses on the development of the sociology of language as an international and interdisciplinary field. The hope is that different approaches, both theoretical and empirical will supplement and complement each other, leading to the growth of language-related knowledge, applications, values and sensitivities. Articles are in English, French, Spanish, German, and occasionally Italian.

The International Review of Pragmatics, published by Brill, publishes on pragmatics and related disciplines related to any aspect of human communication, both verbal and non-verbal. No language restrictions on the submission guidelines, but articles appear in English.

Issues in Applied Linguistics is published by the graduate students of the UCLA Department of Applied Linguistics & TESL. They are interested in Discourse Analysis, Sociolinguistics, Language Acquisition, Language Analysis, Language Assessment, Language Education, Language Use, Language Evolution, Neurobiology of Language, and Research Methodology. Articles appear to be in English.

The Journal of African Cultural Studies focuses on various aspects of African culture, including oral and written literature, performance and visual arts, music, cinema, the role of the media, the relationship between culture and power, as well as issues within popular culture in Africa, sociolinguistic topics of cultural interest, and culture and gender. Articles are in English.

The Journal of African Languages and Linguistics encourages original contributions on all aspects of African language studies, synchronic as well as diachronic, theoretical as well as data-oriented. The journal also lists recently published books on African languages and linguistics. Articles are in English and French.

The Journal of Asian Pacific Communication, published by the John Benjamins Publishing Company, focuses on discussing and interpreting language in communication issues as they pertain to people of Asian Pacific regions and in their immigrant communities worldwide. The journal is dedicated to interdisciplinary approaches to language in communication studies. Submission guidelines do not restrict to English, but require an English abstract. All articles appear to be in English.

The Journal of Chinese Linguistics is an academic journal mainly in English, and includes research from both general linguistics and Chinese linguistics (Languages in China). JCL publishes on a variety of general linguistic areas such as phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, and pragmatics. Articles are in English and Chinese (all Chinese articles have English abstracts).

The Journal of Chinese Linguistics, monograph series, is focused on general linguistics and Chinese linguistics covering languages in China. It is published by Chinese University Press on behalf of Project on Linguistic Analysis. JCLMS has a singular theme for each volume, currently published annually. Articles are primarily in Chinese, with English abstracts.

descriptive and theoretical study of the Greek language from its roots in Ancient Greek down to present-day dialects and varieties, including those spoken in Asia Minor, Cyprus, Tsakonia, and the Greek diaspora. Articles are in English.

The Journal of Historical Pragmatics, published by the John Benjamins Publishing Company, provides an interdisciplinary forum for theoretical, empirical and methodological work at the intersection of pragmatics and historical linguistics. The focus is on the "socio-historical and pragmatic aspects of historical texts in the sociocultural context of communication (e.g. conversational principles, politeness strategies, or speech acts) and on diachronic pragmatics as seen in linguistic processes such as grammaticalization or discoursization." Articles are in English.

The Journal of Indo-European Studies focuses on the origin and evolution of the Indo-European language family and the anthropology, archaeology, mythology and general cultural history of the Indo-European-speaking peoples. Submission guidelines do not restrict language.

The Journal of Language Aggression and Conflict focuses on new tools and methods to investigate and better understand the language of aggression and conflict. JLAC is multidisciplinary in nature and encourages, debate among researchers representing different fields including, but not limited to, linguistics, communication, psychology, anthropology, bi- and multilingualism, business management, second language acquisition, gender studies. Articles are in English.

The Journal of Language Contact focuses on the study of language contact, use, and change. This involves linguistic, anthropological, historical, and cognitive factors. Submission guidelines do not restrict language, but articles appear to be in English.

The Journal of Linguistics focuses on clear contributions to the conversations about all branches of theoretical linguistics. It provides surveys of recent linguistics publications, including book reviews and review articles on major works on theoretical advances. Articles are in English.

The Journal of Literary Semantics focuses on research into the relations between linguistics and literature. It concentrates the work of theoretical linguistics on what are traditionally considered "literary" texts. Its readership includes theoretical and applied linguists, narratologists, poeticians, philosophers and psycholinguists. JLS publishes articles on all aspects of literary semantics, broadly including the study of literature as it relates to other disciplines such as psychology, neurophysiology, mathematics, and history, as well as articles dealing with the educational problems inherent in the study of literature. Articles are in English.

The Journal of Phonetics publishes experimental or theoretical research that relates to the phonetic aspects of language and linguistic communication processes. Submissions on technological and/or pathological topics, or interdisciplinary papers, are also accepted as long as linguistic-phonetic principles support the work. Articles are in English.

The Journal of Pidgin and Creole Languages (JPCL) focuses on the scholarly study of pidgins, creoles, and other contact language varieties. It has special emphasis on research on empirical description, theoretical issues, and broad implications for theories of language acquisitions and change, and linguistic theory in general. The editors also encourage explorations of the application of linguistic research to language planning, education, and social reform. Articles are in English.

The Journal of Politeness Research, associated with the international Linguistic Politeness Research Group (LPRG) focuses on aspects of politeness as a complex linguistic and non-linguistic phenomenon. Its multidisciplinary approach provides a forum for interconnections between researchers approaching politeness from different disciplinary angles. The journal opens the existing body of research by encouraging contributions from lesser-studied cultures and languages. Articles are in English.

The Journal of Pragmatics brings together a wide range of research in the branches of pragmatics, including cognitive pragmatics, corpus pragmatics, experimental pragmatics, historical pragmatics, interpersonal pragmatics, multimodal pragmatics, sociopragmatics, theoretical pragmatics and related fields. Articles are in English.

The Journal of Second Language Pronunciation focuses on the acquisition, perception, production, teaching, assessment, and description of prosodic and segmental pronunciation of second languages in every context of learning. The journal encourages research that bridges theory and practice, increases understanding of second language phonological learning processes, and connects second language pronunciation and other areas of applied linguistics. Articles are in English.

The Journal of Semantics focuses on formal and experimental methods on the study of meaning. It welcomes submissions on semantics, pragmatics, the syntax/semantics interface, cross-linguistic semantics, experimental studies of meaning (processing, acquisition, and neurolinguistics), and semantically-informed philosophy of language. Articles are in English.

The Journal of the International Phonetic Association (JIPA) focuses on research on phonetic theory and description and their phonological, typological ,and broader implications. JIPA encourages submissions from well-known and underdocumented linguistic varieties (minority and endangered languages). JIPA also welcomes research on phonetics, laboratory phonology, practical applications of phonetics to areas such as phonetics teaching, speech therapy, and computer speech processing, provided the focus of such submissions is primarily linguistic in nature. JIPA is especially concerned with the theory behind the International Phonetic Alphabet, and publishes online audio files to supplement the text of the Illustrations and encourages the submission of such supplementary materials for all contributions, including the submission of manuscripts with embedded audio files. Articles are primarily in English, but contributions in what they call "languages of wide scholarly currency" may also be accepted.