Use the following subject headings to search for books, periodicals, and electronic resources in the Primo Library Catalog. For more, consult LCSH online.

Late 19th century LC Subject Headings

Literature 

English literature--18th century

English literature--18th century--Criticism, textual

English literature--18th century--History and criticism

English literature--18th century--Themes, motives

English literature--18th century--Women authors

English literature--19th century

English literature--19th century--Criticism, textual

English literature--19th century--History and criticism

English literature--19th century--Themes, motives

English literature--19th century--Women authors

Romanticism--Great Britain

Politics and literature--Great Britain--History--18th century

Politics and literature--Great Britain--History--19th century

Poetry

English poetry--18th century

English poetry--18th century--History and criticism

English poetry--19th century

English poetry--19th century--History and criticism

Drama

English drama--18th century

English drama--18th century--History and criticism

English drama--19th century

English drama--19th century--History and criticism

UIUC's RBML holds the Lloyd Francis Nickell Eighteenth-Century English Literature Collection with 2000+ volumes. The collection contains rare editions by great writers such as Defoe, Swift, Fielding, Pope, Goldsmith, Samuel Johnson, Boswell, Addison, and Smollett.

To find contemporary book reviews of Victorian novels, you have three options.

1. Search one of the databases to the right, such as British Periodicals, Wellesley Index of Victorian Periodicals or Ninteenth Century UK Periodicals.

2. Consider search the online archives Hathi Trust and Internet Archive. UIUC Library belongs to Hathi Trust. To login, you just need to use your Active Directory login.

3. Consult a research companion on an individual author, which might list all reviews, for instance, Ashgate's Thomas Hardy Research Companion. To find companions on a specific author, search the Library Online Catalog and use search terms such as the author's name and "companion" or "encyclopedia."