Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

British Literature: John Milton

A guide to British Literature tools and resources.

Major Journals

A wealth of Miltonian scholarship can be found in scholarly journals that publish literary and historical criticism about Miltonian works. Here are  the major journals that contain articles and other critical works about Milton, his works, and his contemporaries:

Databases

The journals listed above and many others are now available online through databases, which contain a wealth of critical journal articles and contextual research about Milton and his contemporaries.  Here are the leading databases to use for research:

Journal Articles/Criticism

Primary Sources/Texts

Access to all of the Library's electronic resources and databases is available through the Library's Online Journals & Databases index.  A comprehensive list of online databases and other research resources for literary studies is available on the Literatures and Languages Library website at its Online Resources and Databases guide

Basic Sources

Reference Works

Milton Collection at the RBML

The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign's Rare Book and Manuscript Library (RBML), located on the third floor of the Main Library (Room 346), is one of the finest special collections libraries in the United States. One of its strengths is its John Milton collection. According to the RBML's website:

The John Milton collection includes more than 100 seventeenth-century editions of Milton, with more than 3,000 volumes of later editions and works of criticism. Supporting the Milton collection is a broad array of seventeenth-century imprints in English history, literature, and religion. The collection, developed by Harris Fletcher, forms the core of the Library’s outstanding holdings in seventeenth-century printed books and maps.

This rich collection is a great resource for all students and scholars doing reseach on Milton.