LibGuides: History 492: Historiography and Methodology (History Honors Seminar): Periodicals

Starting Points

To find journal articles for historical research, one of the following two article indexes is usually the best place to begin:

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The main article database for researching American history. Use to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history. Includes some links to full text. Complements Historical Abstracts. Indexes publications from 1964-present.
Alternate Access Link
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all aspects of world history, excluding North America, from 1450. Includes links to the full text of some articles. Complements America: History and Life. Indexes publications from 1954-present.
Alternate Access Link

More Article Indexes

There are several other article databases of interest to historians, and, depending on your research topic, you might find that you need to use article databases from other disciplines as well.

Below are some of the most important:

Annual Bulletin of Historical Literature
Historiographical essays on the year's scholarship. Reviews publications from 1911-present.
Magazine Stacks = Zeitschriftenfreihandmagazin
Tables of contents from important German-language history journals, book series, and Festschriften. Coverage has expanded to include other European-language publications as well.
ViVa
Identifies articles on women's and gender history in English, French, German, Dutch, Spanish, and Scandinavian languages from 180 European, American, Canadian, Asian, Australian and New Zealand journals. Indexes publications from 1975-present.

L'Année philologique This link opens in a new window
Covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world. Indexes publications from 1928-present.
Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles (over 4,000 journals covered) and books on the Medieval period in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa. Indexes publications from 1958-present. Includes the Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale, which is drawn from the bibliographies published in the Cahiers de Civilisation Médiévale from 1958-2003.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Multi-disciplinary. Identifies journal articles, books, and book chapters about women, sexuality, and gender during the Medieval period. Indexes publications from 1990-2007.

Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, encyclopedia articles, exhibition catalogs, and conference proceedings on all aspects of Middle Ages and Renaissance studies. Part of Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Indexes publications from 1784-present.
Victorian Database Online This link opens in a new window
Identifies books, journal articles, and dissertations on all aspects of 19th century British studies. Indexes publications from 1945-present.
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary. Indexes journal articles, books, dissertations, government publications, and online resources from the United States and Canada. Indexes publications from 1989-present, with coverage back to 1939 for some materials.
Alternate Access Link
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary. Indexes journal articles, books, and book chapters, principally in Western languages on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Indexes publications from 1971-present.
Alternate Access Link

International African Bibliography = Bibliographie internationale africaine
Quarterly bibliography, began as a section in the journal Africa. Became a separate publication in 1971. For pre-2001 issues, consult the print edition. Indexes publications from 1929-present.
Africa Bibliography
Annual bibliography of African Studies. Identifies books, essays, and articles in the social sciences, environmental sciences, humanities, and fine arts. Began as a catalog of publications received by the Edinburgh University Library and the International African Institute. Not useful for identifying government documents. Indexes publications from 1984-present.
more...less...
For pre-2010 issues, consult the print version. Users may see the following error message: "Please note that this site is currently unavailable due to essential maintenance work." If this occurs, clear your browser cache, history and cookies or open an "incognito" browser window. Then
return to https://africabibliography-cambridge-org.proxy2.library.illinois.edu/.

African Studies Centre Database (Leiden) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary. The catalog of the African Studies Centre in Leiden, which lists over 80,000 books, over 85,000 journal articles, as well as African newspapers, government reports, grey literature, and motion pictures. Includes annotated citations to journal articles and listing of books chapters from works acquired since 1988.
Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature This link opens in a new window
Six databases: Africana Periodical Literature, African Women, Search Women Travelers to Africa, Islam in Africa, Kenya Coast, and Water in Africa. Files can be searched separately, or together through AfricaBib.
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
Identifies journal articles, newspaper articles, books, and book chapters on all aspects of the Chicano and Latino/Latina experience in the United States. Indexes publications from 1960s-present.
Alternate Access Link

International Index to Black Periodicals (1900-present) and Marshall Index (1940-1946)
Identifies articles on all aspects of Black studies, in journals from North America, Africa, and the Caribbean. Part of the Black Studies Center. Includes the Marshall Index, which covers 1940-1946. Indexes publications from 1902-present. In the current version of Black Studies Center, the International Index to Black periodicals and the Marshall Index have been combined into a single browsable file called "Black Literature Index," and are no longer separately searchable.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary. Identifies journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, and Hispanics in the United States. Indexes publications from 1970-present.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Identifies journal articles, books, book chapters, and conference papers on Latin American Studies. Indexes publications from 1935-present.

For even more article indexes, consult our list of Bibliographies, Catalogs, and Indexes on our Guide to Online Reference Sources.

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery

Most of the above databases will identify journal articles, but only full text will only be available for those to which we have subscriptions, and which are available online. If you find an article that is not available online through the Library's "Discover Full Text" service, then you will have to request it through Interlibrary Loan.

The Library's Interlibrary Loan web site offers a web form for submitting photocopy and loan requests, as well as information on the status of requests you have previously submitted, through their ILLiad system.

Digitized Periodical Collections

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The full text of over 1,500 scholarly journals, with coverage back to the first issue for each, in some cases as far back as the 17th century. Recent issues of most journals in this database are embargoed by journal publishers, so to be certain you are also identifying the most recent publications, use an article index like Historical Abstracts or America: History, and Life.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Over 600 scholarly journals, with emphasis on recent ten years of issues. Originally intended as a complement to JSTOR.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
1665-present. Over 700 European and American periodicals in the humanities and social sciences.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
1685-1835. Over 270 newspapers and periodicals from across the British Empire, but mostly from Britain.
British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of influential British periodicals (literary, political, religious, and more) published between 1680 and 1940.
American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
1740-1940. Over 1,000 titles. Probably the single most important digital collection of early American periodicals. Includes the sub-collection American Periodicals from the Center for Research Libraries, which is particularly strong in trade and labor periodicals.
African American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
About 170 serials published by, for, or about African Americans. Part of the Archive of Americana.
19th Century UK Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. Many periodicals reproduced in full color. Series 1: New Readerships (emphasizing women, children, humour, leisure, and sport). Series 2: Empire (emphasizing travel, anthropology, economics, evangelism, colonialism).
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers and periodicals with an emphasis on women and gender issues. Indexes publications from 1970-present.