Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a primary source?
Primary sources are original artifacts or documents. They offer contemporary accounts from participants or people directly involved in an event. To find out more about secondary sources, see our secondary sources page.
- Diaries and literary memoirs
- Letters/ Correspondence
- Artistic works (musical and visual arts)
- News segments/transcripts
- Legal documents and Statistics
Albert H. Lybyer Papers, 1876-1949 | University of Illinois Archives
Call Number: http://archives.library.illinois.edu/archon/?p=collections/controlcard&id=2187
Description: Papers of Albert Howe Lybyer (1876-1949), professor of History (1913-1944) including correspondence, memoranda, diaries, notes, photographs, manuscripts, bibliography slips and financial records relating to courses taken at Princeton and Harvard and taught at Robert College (1901-1907), Oberlin (1910-1913), and Illinois (1913-1944); service with the Inquiry, the American Commission to Negotiate Peace and the King-Crane Commission on mandates in Turkey (1918-1919); schools and relief in the Near East; travel in the U.S., Europe and the Near East; contributions to periodicals and encyclopedias; addresses and radio talks; service on University committees (1920-1940); manuscript bibliographies on the Ottoman Empire; historical association committees; conservation; mathematics; real estate investments in Florida, Iowa, Indiana and Illinois; family history and genealogy and personal affairs. The series includes 2x3 inch glass slides of travel scenes in Europe and the Ottoman Empire (1912).
expand icon On-line Images / Records
Download Box / Folder List (pdf)
"Description de l'Egypte" online
Call Number: http://www.wdl.org/en/item/80/
From the Bibliotheca Alexandrina in Egypt comes the plate & text volumes of the 2nd edition, fully digitized, of this seminal work of French Orientalism.
Orientalism in Nineteenth–Century Art
Call Number: http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/euor/hd_euor.htm
The Orient—including present-day Turkey, Greece, the Middle East, and North Africa—exerted its allure on the Western artist's imagination centuries prior to the turn of the nineteenth century. Figures in Middle Eastern dress appear in Renaissance and Baroque works by such artists as Bellini, Veronese, and Rembrandt, and the opulent eroticism of harem scenes appealed to the French Rococo aesthetic. Until this point, however, Europeans had minimal contact with the East, usually through trade and intermittent military campaigns. In 1798, a French army led by General Napoleon Bonaparte invaded Egypt and occupied the country until 1801. The European presence in Egypt attracted Western travelers to the Near and Middle East, many of whom captured their impressions in paint or print. In 1809, the French government published the first installment of the twenty-four-volume Description de l'Égypte (1809–22), illustrating the topography, architecture, monuments, natural life, and population of Egypt. The Description de l'Égypte was the most influential of many works that aimed to document the culture of this region, and it had a profound effect on French architecture and decorative arts of the period, as evidenced in the dominance of Egyptian motifs in the Empire style.
Oriental question, 1840-1900 [microform]:
Oriental question, 1840-1900 [microform]: files from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle.
Material from the Royal Archives on British involvement in the Middle East during the decline of the Ottoman Empire.
Confidential print. Middle East 1812-1969 1841-1957.
Collections include Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 and Confidential Print : Middle East, 1839-1969. The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research.
The series originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet and to heads of British missions abroad.
World History in Video
World history in video is an online collection of streaming video that gives users access to critically acclaimed documentaries from filmmakers worldwide. Upon completion the collection will include more than 1750 documentaries that offer a survey of human history from the earliest civilizations to the fall of the Berlin Wall. World history in video covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.
British documents on foreign affairs
British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part I, From the mid-nineteenth century to the First World War. Series F, Europe, 1848-1914
International and Area Studies Library
Subjects: African Studies
, Chinese Studies
, European Union
, Global Studies
, Japanese Studies
, Korean Studies
, Latin America
, Middle East
, Religious Studies
, Slavic & East European
, South Asian Studies