LibGuides: Energy-Water Nexus Research Guide: Find Articles & More

EasySearch - World Water Day Style!

The search box below is specifically scoped to include resources with content relevant to the Energy-Water Nexus. The search scope includes key physical science, life science, engineering, and social science databases, as well as multidisclinpinary, news, and data resources. If you are not sure where to look for information on your energy-water topic, this can be a good place to start to identify the best research databases.

A Few Good Databases for Research on Water & Energy Topics

These databases will provide a starting point for research on the connection between water and energy. To find more databases, click the "Databases by Subject: Environmental Science" link at the bottom of the list.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Alternate Access Link
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
This database includes the two primary earth sciences indexes: GeoRef and GEOBASE, the engineering indexes: Compendex and INSPEC, as well as the National Technical Information Service, which indexes government reports.

Databases by Subject: Environmental Science
Check the list of databases that cover environmental science topics for additional database suggestions.

Select Government Information Databases

Below are a few resources that will help you find government information on topics related to the World Water Day 2014 theme. For additional resource suggestions and assistance with Government Information, see the University LIbrary's Government Information Services, Access and Collections website

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
The CQ Researcher is a complete source for detailed analysis and reporting on current and controversial issues. Emphasis is on policy.

GovInfo
GovInfo, previously Federal Digital System, is the main online repository for U.S. Government Documents.
Science.gov
Science.gov searches over 55 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 13 federal agencies.

Data Resources

Data.gov
Home of the U.S. Government's open data.
Energy Information Administration
Downloadable data on a range of energy sources and uses.
Energy Information Administration State Profile for Illinois
Quickly find statistics on all aspects of energy supply and consumption for Illinois.
H2OinfO
H2infO provides a single entry point for access to quality U.S.-based water-related resources that contribute to solutions for global water challenges. This web portal shares a broad range of resources developed by U.S. Water Partnership members.
International Benchmarking Network databases
The Benchmarking Database facilitates comparison of various aspects of utilities' services across locations, including utility profiles by country. The Tarrif Database includes tarrif info for specific water and wastewater services.
International Statistics for Water Services (International Water Association)
Includes data on water services from 40 countries and 170 cities. Covers consumption and cost metrics; filter by metric, location, or year.
USGS Illinois Water Science Center
"The U.S. Geological Survey currently operates over 300 data collection sites in Illinois for acquiring information on surface-water, ground-water, water-quality, and precipitation. About 200 of the sites are equipped with satellite telemetry, which provides real-time data via GOES satellites and downlinks, which enables the posting of data to the Web for public dissemination."