Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

How to Use JapanKnowledge+: Contents

User guide for JapanKnowledge+

JapanKowledge+ Contents

The following is the list of searchable contents of JapanKnowledge+ (in the same order as they appear on the database selection column on the search screen). For more detailed information about each title (scope, number of entries, publication date, etc.) and contents of the Multimatdia Library, go to JapanKnowledge's English content guide page (http://www.jkn21.com/contents/intro_e/cont_top.html) and click on a database title. 

Search Text

Encyclopedia (百科)

  • 日本大百科全書(ニッポニカ): Complete Japanese Encyclopedia (Encyclopedia Nipponica)
  • ニッポニカ・プラス: Nipponica Plus
  • Encyclopedia of Japan

Japanese (日本語)

  • デジタル大辞泉: Digital Dai-ji-sen Japanese Dictionary
  • 日本国語大辞典: Shogakukan Unabridged Dictionary of the Japanese Language
  • 字通: "Ji-tsu" Great Dictionary of Chinese Characters (Kanji)
  • 数え方の辞典: Dictionary of Japanese Counting Words

History (歴史)

  • 国史大辞典: Encyclopedia of Japanese History
  • 日本歴史地名大系: Encyclopedia of Japanese Historical Place Names
  • 日本史年表: "Nihonshi nenpyo" Timeline of Japanese History (with furigana)
  • 古事類苑: "Kojiruien" Ancient Gardens
  • 江戸名所図会: "Edo Meisho Zue" Famous Places in Edo

English (英語)

  • ランダムハウス英和大辞典: Shogakukan Random House English-Japanese Dictionary
  • e-プログレッシブ英和中辞典: Shogakukan e-Progressive English-Japanese Dictionary
  • プログレッシブ和英中辞典: Shogakukan Progressive Japanese-English Dictionary
  • コウビルド米語版英英和辞典: COBUILD Advanced Dictionary of American English, English/Japanese
  • CAMBRIDGE英英辞典: Cambridge Advanced Learner’s Dictionary
  • 理化学英和辞典: English-Japanese Dictionary of Physical Sciences
  • 医学英和辞典: English-Japanese Dictionary of Medical Science

European languages (ヨーロッパ言語)

  • ポケットプログレッシブ独和辞典: Pocket Progressive German-Japanese Dictionary
  • ポケットプログレッシブ仏和辞典: Pocket Progressive French-Japanese Dictionary
  • ポケットプログレッシブ西和辞典: Pocket Progressive Spanish-Japanese Dictionary
  • ポケットプログレッシブ伊和辞典: Pocket Progressive Italian-Japanese Dictionary
  • 羅和辞典: Lexicon Latino-Japonicum Dictionary
  • ポケットプログレッシブ和独辞典: Pocket Progressive Japanese-German Dictionary
  • ポケットプログレッシブ和仏辞典: Pocket Progressive Japanese-French Dictionary
  • ポケットプログレッシブ和西辞典: Pocket Progressive Japanese-Spanish Dictionary
  • ポケットプログレッシブ和伊辞典: Pocket Progressive Japanese-Italian Dictionary
  • 和羅辞典: Lexicon Japonicum-Latino Dictionary

East Asian languages (東アジア言語)

  • ポケットプログレッシブ中日・日中辞典: Pocket Progressive Chinese-Japanese/Japanese-Chinese Dictionary
  • ポケットプログレッシブ韓日・日韓辞典: Pocket Progressive Korean-Japanese/Japanese-Korean Dictionary

Terminology and Information (用語・情報)

  • 情報.知識 イミダス: "IMIDAS" Innovative Multi-Information Dictionary, Annual Series
  • 現代用語の基礎知識: "Gendai yogo no kiso chishiki" Encyclopedia of contemporary words
  • 会社四季報: "Kaisha Shikiho" Japan Corporate Handbook
  • 法律用語辞典: Dictionary of Legal Terms (4th Edition)
  • デジタル大辞泉プラス: Digital Dai-ji-sen Plus

Biography and Culture (人名・文化)

  • 日本人名大辞典: The Biographical Dictionary of Japan
  • JK Who’s Who
  • 世界文学大事典: The Dictionary of World Literature
  • 日本人物文献目録: Bibliography of Japanese Biographies
  • 日本架空伝承人名事典: The Dictionary of Japanese Legendary Fictional Characters
  • 能・狂言事典: The Noh and Kyogen Dictionary
  • 歌舞伎事典: The Kabuki Dictionary

Science (科学)

  • デジタル化学辞典(第2版): Digital Dictionary of Chemistry (2nd Edition)
  • 法則の辞典: Dictionary of Laws of Natural Science

Articles and Columns (記事・コラム)

  • 週刊エコノミスト: Weekly Economist
  • NNA アジア&EU国際情報: NNA Global Business News from Asia and Europe
  • 平成ニッポン生活便利帳: "Heisei Nippon seikatsu benricho" Useful Information for Life in Japan in the Heisei Era

Books and URL (叢書・URL)

  • 東洋文庫: "Toyo Bunko" The Eastern Library Series
  • 新編 日本古典文学全集: The Complete Collection of Japanese Classical Literature (New Edition)
  • 文庫クセジュ ベストセレクション: Collection <Que sais-je?> Best Selections

Search Media

  • 画像; Image
  • 音声: Sound
  • 地図情報: Map Information