Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Gray Literature in Health and Biomedical Sciences: Cross Disciplinary

Government Publicaitons

Government Printing Office

 FDsys Federal Digital System

provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. Through FDsys, you are able to:

SEARCH: 
for documents and publications FDsys provides advanced search capabilities and the ability to refine and narrow your search for quick access to the information you need.

BROWSE: 
for documents and publicationsFDsys offers browsing by collection, Congressional committee, date, and Government author.

  • Collection
  • Congressional Committee
  • Date
  • Government Author

 

MORE:

Access metadata about documents and publications — FDsys provides information about Government publications in standard XML formats.

Download documents and publications in multiple renditions or file formats — With FDsys, users can download a single file or download content and metadata packaged together in a compressed file.

 

MetaLib GPO

MetaLib is a federated search engine that searches multiple U.S. Federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while providing direct links to selected resources available online. 

 

NTIS Bibliographic Database

The NTIS Bibliographic Database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964. On average, NTIS adds over 30,000 new records per year to the Database. Most records include abstracts.

SUBJECTS:

Multi-disciplinary coverage, including

  • Behavior & Society
  • Biomedical Technology
    & Human Factors Engineering
  • Environmental Pollution & Control
  • Health Care
  • Medicine & Biology
  • Urban & Regional Tech. Development
  • And Much More...

Science.gov

Science.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results. Currently in its fifth generation, Science.gov provides a search of over 55 scientific databases and 200 million pages of science information with just one query, and is a gateway to over 2100 scientific Websites

BROWSE:

 

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS:

UIUC Library Databases for Gray Literature

The database consists of detailed information and deadlines about calls for papers for forthcoming conferences and special issues of scholarly journals. These calls for papers are issued by professional bodies, journal editors and other conference organizers in all disciplines and from all over the world. Thus, the database serves as an alerting service for researchers, scholars and students that are seeking opportunities to present and publish their research.

Subject coverage

  • Arts, architecture, music and sports
  • Biotechnology and genetic engineering
  • Computers and information technology
  • Engineering and technology
  • Generalities, library science and journalism
  • Geography and history
  • Human biology, medicine and health sciences
  • Literature and languages
  • Management and related areas
  • Mathematical sciences and astronomy

Use the "Source Type" limit for

  • Conference Papers & Proceedings
  • Dissertations & Theses
  • Reports

Use the "Document Type" limit for

  • Book Chapter
  • Conference Paper
  • Dissertation
  • Working Paper

Open Access Repositories

GreyNet International

GreyNet is dedicated to Research, Publication, Open Access, and Education in the field of Grey Literature

OpenGrey

Provides open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature (paper) produced in Europe and allows you to export records and locate the documents .OpenGrey covers Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Science and Humanities.

SEARCH:

  • by keyword
  • refine by discipline
  • refine by document type

OAIster 

OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster includes more than 25 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.

WHAT YOU GET: The records of the open access digital resources available via OAIster lead to a wide range of materials and include:

  • Digitized (scanned) books, journal articles, newspapers, manuscripts and more
  • Digital text
  • Audio files (wav, mp3)
  • Video files (mp4, QuickTime)
  • Photographic images (jpeg, tiff, gif)
  • Data sets (downloadable statistical information)
  • Theses and research papers

 

Information Network for the Availability of Scientific Publications (INASP)

INASP is an international development charity working with a global network of partners to improve access, production and use of research information and knowledge, so that countries are equipped to solve their development challenges.

ROARMAP: Registry of Open Access Repositories Mandatory Archiving Policies

SHERPA - Repositories and Service Providers

SPARC Collected Repositories

 

Science

Nature Precedings

NOTE: Nature Precedings ceased accepting new submissions as of April 3rd, 2012. The full archive of existing content remains freely accessible at this site and will be maintained by NPG

SUBJECTS: Biomedical and Health Sciences

WHAT YOU GET:

  • Manuscripts
  • Marker Papers/Data Plans
  • Posters
  • Presentations

BROWSE BY SUBJECT or DOCUMENT TYPE

WorldWideScience.org

Global science gateway—accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases and portals.

SEARCH:

  • Multilingual or English citations
  • Multimedia
  • Data