Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Gray Literature in Health and Biomedical Sciences: Data

Health Data - Canada

Canadian Institute for Health Information

To lead the development and maintenance of comprehensive and integrated health information that enables sound policy and effective health system management that improve health and health care.

Database of Online Health Statistics

The Database of Online Health Statistics provides quick and easy access to freely available web-based statistics generated by national and global agencies and research groups.

Health Data - Foundations

Health and Medical Care Archive

from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

The Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA) is the data archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF), the largest philanthropy devoted exclusively to health and health care in the United States. Operated by the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) at the University of Michigan, HMCA preserves and disseminates data collected by selected research projects funded by the Foundation and facilitates secondary analyses of the data. The data collections in HMCA include surveys of health care professionals and organizations, investigations of access to medical care, surveys on substance abuse, and evaluations of innovative programs for the delivery of health care. Our goal is to increase understanding of health and health care in the United States through secondary analysis of RWJF-supported data collections.

SEARCH or BROWSE by subject.

Health Data - Global

World Health Organization (WHO)

Data & Statistics

Global Health Observatory

WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation

 

CANCERMondial
This website provides access to various databases containing information on the occurrence of cancer worldwide held and managed by the Section of Cancer Information (CIN) of IARC

DATABASES:

GLOBOCAN provides access to the most recent estimates (for 2008) of the cancer incidence, mortality and prevalence for 27 cancers worldwide

CI5 (Cancer Incidence in Five Continents) provides access to detailed information on the incidence of cancer recorded by cancer registries (regional or national) worldwide.

WHO presents long time series of selected cancer mortality recorded in selected countries of the world, together with advanced prediction and trends analysis facilities.

Health Data - Organizations

National Association of Health Data Organizations (NAHDO)

The National Association of Health Data Organizations (NAHDO) is a national non-profit membership and educational association dedicated to improving health care data collection and use. NAHDO’s members include state and private health data organizations that maintain statewide health care databases and stakeholders of these databases.

DATABASES:

Health Data - US

CDC Wonder

CDC WONDER, developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), is an integrated information and communication system for public health. Its purposes are:

  1. To promote information-driven decision making by placing timely, useful facts in the hands of public health practitioners and researchers, and
  2. To provide the general public with access to specific and detailed information from CDC.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - Data and Statistics 

BROWSE by Topic such as:

Health Data Interactive

State and Territorial Data

Surveys and Data Collection Systems

H-CUPNet

HCUPnet is a free, on-line query system based on data from the Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP). It provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization.

BROWSE by topic area

HealthData.gov

SEARCH:

  • Keyword
  • Agency
  • Subject area

 

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)

The mission of the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is to provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.

BROWSE the alphabetic index

SEARCH by keyword

DATABASES & TOOLS:

FastStats A-Z

FastStats A-Z provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance, including: diseases and conditions, injuries, life stages and populations, and health care and insurance.

Survey & Data Collection Systems

Data Access

 

National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)

HSRR is a searchable database of information about research datasets, instruments/indices and software. Users may examine and compare characteristics of some of the resources employed in Health Services Research, the Behavioral and Social Sciences and Public Health. The database includes brief descriptions of research resources and links to PubMed. It also includes URLs of providers for additional information or access to the resources. HSRR is not a repository of the actual resources.

Data- General

Data.gov

The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government.

Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government. Data.gov provides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. The data catalogs will continue to grow as datasets are added. Federal, Executive Branch data are included in the first version of Data.gov.