Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Gray Literature in Health and Biomedical Sciences: Biomedicine

Canada

Health Canada  - Drugs and Health Products

The Drug Product Database (DPD) contains product specific information on drugs approved for use in Canada. The database is managed by Health Canada and includes human pharmaceutical and biological drugs, veterinary drugs and disinfectant products. It contains approximately 15,000 products which companies have notified Health Canada as being marketed.

US

Grey Literature Report

The report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine Library alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics.

Click on subject link below to do a quick search of the database.

 

Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement (ICSI)

ICSI strives to improve the health of the population, the patient care experience, including quality, and the affordability of care through the collaboration of its medical group members, health plan sponsors and other stakeholders in the health community. ICSI’s initiatives accelerate health care redesign, focus on improving health care and health, and engage communities and citizens to share ownership in their health and care.

  • COMPASS—Mind and Body Health -ICSI is leading a consortium of 10 medical organizations to implement COMPASS, a team-based program designed to improve the care of patients with depression and diabetes and/or cardiovascular disease, and possibly risky substance use.

  • RARE—Hospital Readmissions -ICSI, the Minnesota Hospital Association and Stratis Health launched the Reducing Avoidable Readmissions Effectively (RARE) Campaign to prevent 4,000 avoidable hospital readmissions in Minnesota.

  • DIAMOND for Depression -The DIAMOND program changes how care for patients with depression is delivered and paid for in primary care. This team-based model is now being applied to manage other chronic diseases, and spur the development of health care homes.

  • Accountable Care Work -ICSI is helping medical groups to establish accountable care organizations to move health care from a fee-for-service based systems to one based more on value, plus it is working to develop accountable care communities.

  • Health Care Affordability -One of the Triple Aims is to make health care more affordable. To do this health care is shifting from a volume-based system to one focused on the value of care delivered.

  • Low Back Pain -This widespread common experience comes at a high price, not only in health care costs but also in human suffering. ICSI selected low back pain as a strategic initiative because of rising care and treatment costs with limited and inconsistent outcomes.

  • Cancer Prevention -Cancer is a leading cause of death among Minnesotans. ICSI has been working with the Minnesota Department of Health and the American Cancer Society to increase cancer screening through learning collaboratives and other efforts.

  • Shared Decision-Making -Evidence shows that patients engaged in their own health care have better outcomes. Learn about the concept of shared decision-making between clinician and patient and see how it is applied in real-life situations.

US Government

Cancer.gov

The National Cancer Institute coordinates the National Cancer Program, which conducts and supports research, training, health information dissemination, and other programs with respect to the cause, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of cancer, rehabilitation from cancer, and the continuing care of cancer patients and the families of cancer patients.

Food and Drug Administration

FDA is an agency within the Department of Health and Human Services.

The FDA's organization consists of the Office of the Commissioner and four directorates overseeing the core functions of the agency: Medical Products and Tobacco, Foods, Global Regulatory Operations and Policy, and Operations.

Drugs@FDA

SEARCH by Drug Name, Active Ingredient, or Applicaiton Number

BROWSE by Drug Name

Devices@FDA

SEARCH by keyword

NIH Reporter

Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tools provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities, including information on NIH expenditures and the results of NIH supported research.

SEARCH:

  • RePORTER - The Report Expenditures and Results tool allows users to search a repository of NIH-funded research projects.
  • Awards by Location -Consolidates all information about NIH-supported extramural organizations in a single tool.
  • Funding Facts -Quick access to statistics from the NIH Data Book and annual reports produced by the NIH OER’s Division of Information Services.
  • NIH Data Book -Provides basic summary statistics on extramural grants and contract awards.
  • Success Rates - Computed on a FY basis, success rates are defined by the percentage of applications funded and the total number of applications reviewed.
  • Report Catalog -The Report Catalog is a menu driven interface geared for the NIH familiar user to provide customized reporting.

PubMed Medline

PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Science.gov Health and Medicine

SEARCH by keyword

BROWSE:

  • Alternative Medicine
  • Biomedical and Medical Conditions
  • Drugs and Pharmacology
  • Environmental and Public Health
  • Food, Nutrition, and Metabolism
  • Health Care
  • Laboratory and Diagnostic Procedures
  • Medical Devices
  • Mental Health, Behavior and Substance Abuse
  • Occupational Health and Safety
  • Prevention, Fitness, and Wellness
  • Procedures, Surgery and Other Therapies

UIUC Databases for Biomedical Gray Literature