Skip to Main Content
University Library Home Page and Easy Search
University Library Home Page Easy Search
From the library home page, you can enter search terms into a single search box, and see results from a wide range of resources, presented in a 'bento box' format. The search covers library catalogs and literature databases in all major disciplinary areas, as well as specialized registries of images and datasets. Results also alert you to the availability of research guides on your topic. Easy Search can be a useful starting place when you are unsure where to start. Also see the "recommended literature databases" box for specific literature database recommendations.
Customize your EasySearch
Select target databases and catalogs.
Tips
Discover full text link resolver 
Use Discover buttons to locate online full text from database records. Links to Interlibrary Loan when no full text is available.
Automated search alerts
Most journals and databases offer search alerts (both by RSS and by email). You can follow a specific journal or receive alerts of articles on a topic regardless of journal.
Recommended literature databases
Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature as well as to patents, standards and handbooks (Compendex, US Patents, Inspec, EP Patents, NTIS, WO Patents, GEOBASE, and GeoRef).
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.
Web of Science (Core Collection) This link opens in a new window
Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
First register here using your @illinois.edu email address before visiting the url above to access SciFinder.
SciFinder® is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
OnePetro This link opens in a new window
OnePetro.org is a multi-society library that provides a simple way to search for and access a broad range of technical literature related to the oil and gas exploration and production industry. From one place, you can search and buy documents from many different professional societies, or similar organizations, that serve the oil and gas industry.
AAPG Datapages This link opens in a new window
This is the combined search-and-retrieval website for AAPG publications and related collections. Includes full-text and abstracts.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
PQDT is a collection of citations to dissertations and theses worldwide from 1861 to the present day. Full-text is available for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some of the older graduate works. PQDT is also the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress. Also included are the citations to British and Irish dissertations and theses (PQDT: UK & Ireland) since 1761 and abstracts for content since 1986.
Note: UIUC masters theses are not in PQDT. They are only found in IDEALS or in the library catalog.
Geofacets This link opens in a new window
Geofacets contains over 1.5 million maps, figures, and tables sourced from esteemed scientific publishers.
U.S. Government Research Information
osti.gov
Science, technology, and engineering research information from the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Scientific and Technical Information
Science.gov
Gateway to U.S. Federal Science
Department of Energy PAGES
Public Access Gateway for Energy & Science; access to journal articles and accepted manuscripts resulting from DOE research funding
