Did You Know?
- Collins Collection of Irish Political CartoonsThis is an online collection of political cartoons drawn primarily from the Weekly Freeman and National Press and United Ireland newspapers. The cartoons address the subject of Irish politics of the late 1800s and early 1900s, and, in particular, Ireland's relationship with England.
Ask a Librarian
Newspapers Digital Collections
This page describes our digital newspaper resources. Can't find what you're looking for here? Take a look at our Newspaper Database/Guide for comprehensive access to all of the newspapers (print, microfilm, and electronic) that the Library owns.
- American Popular Entertainment CollectionTrade journals published for the entertainment industry in the United States, with a focus on vaudeville.
- Collegiate ChroniclePresents U.S. college newspapers from different regions and time periods.
- Farm, Field and Fireside: Agricultural Newspaper Collection
This link opens in a new window
Historically significant U.S. farm weeklies, predominantly published in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, but including some through the Twentieth Century. Together with the introduction of rural mail delivery, the telephone, and the automobile, farm newspapers played a key role in the modernization of rural America. - Illinois Digital Newspaper CollectionThe Illinois Digital Newspaper Collection (IDNC) contains digital facsimiles of historic Illinois newspapers. You can browse the newspapers by date or search by keyword across articles, advertisements and photo captions. You can print, download, or e-mail individual articles.
- James Reston: Pioneering American JournalistThe collection consists of items related to James Reston, a two-time Pulitzer Prize winning journalist who changed the nature of U.S. political journalism. This focuses on his work with the Associated Press and The New York Times, including publications, manuscripts, correspondence, speeches, interview transcripts, and photographs. They provide a wealth of historical information the political and journalistic events and trends spanning Reston's career from the late 1930's until the late 1980's.
