Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

American Music: Special Collections of American Music

Special collections at U of I

The Sousa Archives and Center for American Music

The Sousa Archives and Center for American Music (SACAM) acquires and preserves significant archival records and historical artifacts documenting America's local and national music history and its diverse cultures. The principle archival collections of the Center are the papers of John Philip Sousa (1854-1932), Herbert L. Clarke (1867-1945), former directors of the band at the University of Illinois A. Austin Harding (1880-1958), Mark Hindsley (1905-1999), Harry Begian (b. 1921), and University of Illinois alumnus and Sousa Band member Richard E. Kent (1899-1996). In addition the Center is responsible for unique collections of twentieth-century electronic and avant-garde music, and select ethno-musicological research papers from the faculty and staff of the University's School of Music. For a listing of current exhibitions, concerts, and special events, view the events calendar.

University of Illinois Sheet Music Collection

The U.S. Sheet Music Collection in the Music and Performing Arts Library at the University of Illinois contains about 100,000 titles of popular music (as well as some classical) from the early 19th century through the 1980s. The U.S. Sheet Music Collection is divided into two main categories: Vocal/piano music and Instrumental piano music. The music is located in the Special Collections Unit on the second floor of the library and is designated for building-use only.

American music collections beyond U of I

Subject Guide

Music and Performing Arts Library's picture
Music and Performing Arts Library
Contact:
1300 Music Building
1114 W. Nevada St.
Urbana, IL 61801
217.333.1173
Website
Subjects:Dance, Music, Theatre