Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

American Music: Journal Articles

Music journal databases

Note: If you already know the title of the article(s) you need see the "Getting Full Text" box below.

The three main journal databases for music are the International Index of Music Periodicals (IIMP) Music Index, and RILM. These databases can be accessed either from the links provided here, the Music and Performing Arts Library's website, or from the Online Journals & Databases site.

American history journal databases

Full-text journal databases

In addition to the three music-specific databases listed above, there are two full-text databases that have good music coverage.

Getting full text

Finding citations is the (relatively) easy part, now for the fun of actually locating the items you want to read. Unfortunately, there is no one-size-fits-all solution to this. You may need to use some or all of the steps outlined below, depending on the item for which you are searching.

1. Online

If you located an item while you were searching in RILM or another journal database, you should look for a link or an icon that says "Full text" or "Discover UIUC full text linking." This will, in the first case, open the full text file, or, in the second case, open another window that will list online full text options for this title. A word to the wise, this "Discover" service is not 100% accurate. If you are searching for online options for a journal title, always check the library catalog or the ORR, which will list the online sources for that title. Some journals are indexed in many databases, but the dates covered and full-text availability may vary from database to database.

2. In print

If there is no online source for the full text of a journal, search the library's online catalog for the journal title to discover what print holdings are available at Illinois.

3. InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

If there are no online or print holdings at Illinois, place an IShare or ILL request for the article. Be sure you include complete information, especially page numbers.

Subject Guide

Music and Performing Arts Library's picture
Music and Performing Arts Library
Contact:
1300 Music Building
1114 W. Nevada St.
Urbana, IL 61801
217.333.1173
Website
Subjects:Dance, Music, Theatre