Within Web of Knowledge is Web of Science, which indexes journals and provides complete bibliographic data, full length author abstracts, and cited references. Indexes currently available are: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Can also be used to find reviews. The Science Citation Index Expanded and Social Sciences Citation Index are available from 1970 to the present. The Social Science Citation Index will be the one used the most.

Note: Many business journals are not indexed by the Web of Science. See other resources for citation counts. 

• Google Scholar

For journal abbreviations, defer to the ones listed in Web of Science.

Some tips from Google:

• An author search is one of the most effective ways to find a specific paper. If you know who wrote the paper you're looking for, you can simply add their last name to the search terms.
  
  For example: The search [friedman regression] returns papers on the subject of regression written by people named Friedman. If you want to search using an author's full name, or last name and initials, enter the name in quotes: ["jh friedman"].
   
• When a word is both a person's name and a common noun, you might want to use the "author:" operator. This operator only affects the search term that immediately follows it, and there must be no speace between "author:" and your search term.
  
  For example: [author:flowers] returns papers written by people with the name Flowers, whereas [flowers -author:flowers] returns papers about flowers, and ignores papers written by people with the name Flowers (a minus in front of a search term excludes results that contain this search term).
   
• You may use the author operator with an author's full name in quotes to further refine your search. Try to use initials rather than full first names, because some sources indexed in Google Scholar only provide the initials.
  
  For example: To find papers by Donald E. Knuth, you could try [author:"d knuth"], [author:"de knuth"], or [author: "donald e knuth"].

Scopus, produced by Elsevier Science (1960-present), dentifies scientific articles in over 14,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 international publishers. Multidisciplinary coverage includes health, agriculture, chemistry, physics, life sciences, mathematics, engineering, earth and environmental sciences, social science, psychology, and economics, business and management. Includes citation counts via "citation tracker" button and one can set up e-mail alerts.

Perform a search

• Basic search: Begin your search directly from the homepage.
• Advanced search: Enter a command line search using Boolean operators.
• Quick search: Runs a search on title, abstract, author keyword, index keywords and author fields.
• Author search: Enter an author name and find all articles associated with that author.

View your results

• Tabular display of results allows you to easily sort results according to date, relevance, authors, source title and number of citations (cited-by’s).
• Refine Results gives you a quick overview of all of your results according to source title, author name, year, document type and subject area.
• Search within results allows you to search again through all fields within your results list.

Refer to your search history

• A session-based overview of up to 50 searches allows you to review results, edit your searches, save them for a future session or set up an alert to receive new results by email.

• Publish or Perish

A software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations. It uses Google Scholar to obtain the raw citations, then analyzes these and presents the following statistics:

• Total number of papers
• Total number of citations
• Average number of citations per paper
• Average number of citations per author
• Average number of papers per author
• Average number of citations per year
• Hirsch's h-index and related parameters
• Egghe's g-index
• The contemporary h-index
• The age-weighted citation rate
• Two variations of individual h-indices
• An analysis of the number of authors per paper.

• College of Business Working Papers

The Bureau of Economic and Business Research at the COB maintains an online list with links to full text of working papers of Illinois faculty (and their researchers) since 2000. Abstracts are supplied for WP published in the years 1995-1999.

Many of the papers from this time period and earlier are also available through the Bureau of Economic and Business Research Faculty Working Paper collection in the University of Illinois insitutional repository IDEALS. You can search this collection or browse by authors, contributors, subjects, titles, series, or date.

You can also search the Classic Online Catalog for papers before 1995 or to locate hard copies. Type the words "BEBR Faculty Working Paper" and select "Start of Title" in the Search By: box.

• National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)

Click above for online full-text access to NBER working papers.

Papers Invited is a searchable database of calls for papers, posters and publications from professional bodies, universities, journal editors and other conference organizers. It is particularly rich in announcements of scientific meetings. 'Calls for papers' are classified by specific disciplines found within these broad classifications:

• Generalities, Library Science & Journalism;
• Philosophy, Religion and Mythology;
• Psychology and Other Related Fields;
• Geography and History;
• Management and Related Areas;
• Social Sciences;
• Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering;
• Human Biology, Medicine and Health Sciences;
• Engineering and Technology;
• Computers and Information Technology.

After registering, each user may elect to receive email notifications about events within specified disciplines or according to specific keywords. Other features include a personalized inbox and calendar. An advanced search option may be used to find events based on abstract deadline, event dates, locations, or keywords. The Student's Corner allows students to find conferences or publications that invite their participation as well as student volunteer opportunities.

Registration (free for UIUC affiliates) is required for individual users in order to receive the E-Newsletter informing you of periodic updates or the addition of calls for papers in specific areas of interest to you.

• Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

Contains thousands of titles and abstracts of working papers. NBER working papers are also listed in the service and as Illinois has a subscription to NBER, it links directly to the paper.

Directions for signing up:

• Click the SSRN link above
• In the top bar of the homepage, click the Subscribe button
• A new window will open. Click the "Subscribe/Unsubscribe to Journals" link near the bottom of the page
• Type in your e-mail address where it says "New Members: Create a free SSRN User HQ membership" and click "Join SSRN"
• Fill out your personal information and create a password
• Login with your user name (your U of I Net ID) and the password you create

Now you can sign up for which sections/journals you wish to look at: Legal, Economics, Accounting, Financial Economics, and Management.  Gies and the Law School are the sole subscribers, thus the choices are somewhat limited if you want to download the papers.