Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

National Bibliography and Publishing in Afghanistan, 1871-2009: Afghanistan- Digital Collections

A guide to the history and bibliography of printed works in the languages of Afghanistan before, during and after the Soviet occupation of 1979-1989

New York University - Afghanistan Digital Library (Publication Period:1871-1930)

    The Afghanistan Digital Library:

    Catalog of Books :

    Catalog of Newspapers :

    Catalog of Documents :

Collection Overview:  

Afghanistan Digital Library aims to "etrieve and restore the first sixty years of Afghanistan’s published cultural heritage. The project is collecting, cataloging, digitizing, and making available over the Internet as many Afghan publications from the period 1871–1930 as it is possible to identify and locate. In addition to books, this will eventually include all published serials, documents, pamphlets, and manuals."  Researchers seeking digitized materials are encouraged to view the bibliography of books, newspapers, and documents (see above). 

Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection - University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection Bibliography. Volume One: Pasto and Dari titles.   Volume Two: English and European languages.  Wahab, Shaista.  Lincoln, Neb.: Dageforde Publishers, 1995-2000.   ISBN: 1886225079 (v.1), 1886225516 (v.2).  Please Note: v.2 is digitized.  Researchers can download the entire bibliography hereFull list of digitized materials(English Language) at the Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection.  List includes the following publications:  Kabul Times

The Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection at the University of Nebraska "is the largest collection of Afghan materials in the country."  Collection description: "Mr. Paul [1898-1976] served as an economic advisor to the Royal Government of Afghanistan from 1960 to 1965. During his service in Afghanistan, he collected Afghanistan materials for his private library. His collection of Afghanistan materials included published and unpublished materials on all subjects and disciplines pertaining to Afghanistan. The University Library has made extensive efforts to further enrich the collection. Currently the Arthur Paul Afghanistan Collection holds more than 12,000 titles. The Collection contains materials on all subject areas pertaining to Afghan life and culture which includes economics, education, folklore, law, agriculture, language, architecture, geology, geography, history and literature. Documents in this collection are in more than 24 different languages. However, the majority of the materials are in English, Persian/Dari, and Pashto languages."

Subject Guide

Slavic Reference Service's picture
Slavic Reference Service
Contact:
International & Area Studies Library
319a Main Library
University of Illinois
1408 West Gregory Drive
Urbana, Illinois 61801
217-333-1349
Website