Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History 498H: Obscenity, Censorship, and the Regulation of Morals in the United States from 1873 to the Present

Course guide.

On This Page:

In this section we summarize how to find historical newspaper articles in digital collections.

  1. Newspapers
  2. Alternative Press

1. Newspapers

For the most complete and up-to-date information on finding newspapers, whether current or historical, please visit our Find Newspapers guide. That guide is the best place to begin a search for newspapers.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
The New York Times (1851-2005), the Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1991), the Washington Post (1877-1992), and the Chicago Tribune (1849-1986). Also includes 5 major African American newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-203), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975).

America's Historical Newspapers: 1690-1922.
Collection of over 1,000 early U.S. newspapers. Fully searchable.

19th Century U.S. Newspapers.
Fully searchable.

2. Alternative Press

By "alternative press" we usually mean publications that have a counter-cultural, anti-establishment agenda, whether conservative or liberal. For a more in-depth description, see the article "Alternative Press" from the St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture.

Alternative Press Index.
1991-present available online. For coverage back to 1969, consult the Print Edition.

Left Index.
Coverage: 1982-present. Online resource.

Directory of the American Left (1984).
Continued by Guide to the American Left (1989, 1991). Includes a bibliography of periodicals.

Underground Press Collection.
550 titles from the 1960s and 1970s. Supplemented by the Hoover Institution Supplement to Underground Press Collection (16 reels), and the Alternative Press Center Supplement (81 reels).

Alternative Press Collection.
Continues the Underground Press Collection (above). Coverage: 1986-2002. Includes guide: Alternative Press: a Guide to the Microform Collection.

UMC Library Underground Newspaper Collection.
9 reels + Guide.

The Right Wing Collection of the University of Iowa Libraries.
Covers 1918-1977 on 177 reels of microfilm.