Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

History 498H: Obscenity, Censorship, and the Regulation of Morals in the United States from 1873 to the Present

Course guide.

On this Page:

On this page are sources of ready-information for questions like, when did Congress pass the Comstock Act?, or, where are Margaret Sanger's personal papers located?

Use also to confirm information you find in places like Wikipedia: these sources tend to be perceived as more credible, so you can cite them in a paper with confidence.

Finally, reference sources often include bibliographies, making them profitable places to begin a research project.

  1. Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
  2. Biography
  3. Timelines & Factbooks
  4. Bibliographies & Guides

1. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Encyclopedias attempt to summarize the state of knowledge in a field of inquiry. A good encyclopedia can be a valuable starting point for your research.

Two online reference collections that students often find useful are: Oxford Reference Online, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.

2. Biography

English Language Sources

Biography and Geneaology Master Index.
An index to biographical information in hundreds of reference sources, many available only in print.
Biography Resource Center.
Full text collection of over 300,000 biographies, from throughout history, and across the globe.
American National Biography.
Standard reference work for American biography.