Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Published Guides
Slavic studies : a guide to bibliographies, encyclopedias, and handbooks by
Call Number: Q. 016.947 SL16
Croucher's two volume work on Slavic studies is an excellent overall guide to resources in the Slavic field. He includes not only bibliographic titles, but reference resources of all types. While it is extremely thorough, listing thousands of sources, the subject headings are somewhat idiosyncratic. It is, however, well worth the effort!
Bibliography of Islamic Central Asia by
Call Number: 016.958 B746B
This is a tremendous resource for anyone interested in the Islamic culture and history of the region. It is certainly not limited to bibliography and includes citations to many of the major works on the area. There are three volumes, covering the following subjects: pt. I. History, religion, culture -- pt. 2. Descriptions and Travel, written sources for Central Asian history, ethnography, folklore, folk entertainments, physical anthropology -- pt. 3. Archeology, numismatics, architecture, visual arts, auxiliary historical disciplines, historical geography, historiography, bibliography, addenda, indexes.
National Bibliographic Sources-Electronic
The national bibliographic history for the countries of the Slavic world is complex to say the least. The links on the table below will lead to detailed descriptions of the bibliographic sources, print and electronic for each of the countries listed. Not all countries for the region are listed.
Bibliographies of Bibliography
- If you are working on an unfamiliar topic, the bibliography of bibliography can save you a great deal of time in your research. It is the easiest way to identify a subject guide for your area.
- Currently produced by most countries as serial publication including Russia, Poland, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Croatia.
- In some cases, the national library catalog now serves the function of this type of source as will be described below.be described below.
I know no better starting point when exploring an unfamiliar topic than the bibliography of bibliography. In the best case scenario, it will identify a subject guide that will give a wide variety of information. In any case it will give a very clear idea of how much research has been done on a topic.
Most countries in Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union produce some kind of serial bibliography listing bibliographic sources. The Russians have produced an annual publication of this type for many years. Some of these sources are now available online. These include bibliographies that are published in journals, not just monographs. With any serial bibliographic source, searching its contents can be a time consuming procedure.