Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UIUC Slavic Resources
This RSS feed lists the full-text periodicals and the bibliographic databases available for Slavic. All are listed in the ORR.
Multidisciplinary, Multilingual Databases
The number of databases that could be of potential use to you is constantly expanding. The list in the left hand column includes those that have proven most useful to Slavic in general. To see the complete list, you can search the ORR. However, you should be aware that the library intends to discontinue support for the ORR page. The alternative that is being proposed, at present, excludes many of our databases. We are working with the library to try to develop alternative pathways to our databases.
There are a few that you are, no doubt familiar with, but will be reiterated here as they have become central to any research in our field.
MLA International Bibliography
This is perhaps the single most important bibliography for literature and linguisitcs. The compilers have always included foreign language materials very extensively, making it essential for scholars in our region.
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies
(Formerly INION) This is the social science database for the Russian Academy of Sciences. The database is retrospective to apporximately 1986 and is especially useful for literary criticism. It includes publications in all the languages of the regions and has citations for books, articles and dissertations.
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies
American Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies. Primarily an English language source, it is important for anyone tracking research on Slavic literature in North America.
Central and East European Online Library (CEEOL)
This is a full text database of East European publications. It is really limited to publications of the last 10 years but is invaluable for locating full text of many important titles from the region
Russian National Bibliography
While the retrospective depth is limited to the last ten years, this is an invaluable source for anyone trying to complete a comprehensive literature search on a topic related to Russian literature. It lists the monographic publications and thousands of article citations from both newspapers and journals.
The European Bibliography was the counter part to ABSEES, tracking European liteature on Slavic topics.
(Newspaper, Social Science Journals) - The database provides full text of many of the newspapers and a selected group of periodicals from Russia. Very important for locating current reviews.
For a lengthier discussion of multilingual, multidisiplinary databases please consult "Multilingual Electronic Resources for Slavic, East European & Eurasian Studies"