Skip to main content

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Latin American & Caribbean: Research Guide: Libraries and Archives in LA&C

Libraries and Archives in Latin America and the Caribbean

Most national public libraries and archives in Latin America and the Caribbean provide open access to digitized historical primary sources, maps, photographs, manuscripts, and others. Likewise, they have created digital collections of the most representative national literature, that can also be accessed through their websites. Although some national archives do not provide full online access to primary sources, they do have online catalogs listing they holdings and most representative collections. Below you can find the list of main libraries and archives in the region.

For a general database of information of interest to students and scholars of Latin America and the Caribbean please visit the Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)


Argentina

Biblioteca Nacional  Mariano Moreno - Biblioteca Digital

Archivo General de la Nación

Bolivia

Archivo y Biblioteca Nacionales de Bolivia

Brazil

Biblioteca Nacional do Brasil

Biblioteca Nacional Digital do Brasil

Arquivo Nacional do Brasil

Chile

Biblioteca Nacional de Chile - Colecciones Digitales

Archivo Nacional de Chile

Colombia

Biblioteca Nacional de Colombia - Biblioteca Digital

Biblioteca Virtual- Biblioteca Luis Angel Arango

Archivo general de la Nacion

Costa Rica

Sistema Nacional de Bibliotecas de Costa Rica: Biblioteca Digital

Archivo Nacional de Costa Rica

Cuba

Biblioteca Nacional de Cuba José Martí: Bibliotecas Digitales

Archivo Nacional de la República de Cuba

Ecuador

Archivo Nacional del Ecuador

Biblioteca Nacional del Ecuador "Eugenio Espejo"

Haiti

Bibliothèque National d'Haiti

Archives Nationales d'Haïti

Mexico:

Biblioteca Nacional Digital de Mexico - Universidad Autonoma de Mexico

Archivo General de la Nacion

La Biblioteca Nacional de Antropología e Historia

Panama

Biblioteca Nacional de Panamá

Archivo Nacional de Panamá

Paraguay

Biblioteca Nacional del Paraguay. Biblioteca digital

Archivo Nacional de Asuncion - Paraguay: Archivos digitales

Peru

Biblioteca Nacional del Perú

Biblioteca Nacional Virtual del Perú

Archivo General de la Nación del Perú

Sistema Nacional de Archivos del Peru

Red de Archivos y Bibliotecas Históricas del Perú

Puerto Rico

Archivo General de Puerto Rico y Biblioteca Nacional de Puerto Rico

Biblioteca Digital Puertorriqueña.

Archivo Digital Nacional de Puerto Rico

Archivo de Catálogos– Instituto de Cultura Puerrtoriqueña

República Dominicana

Biblioteca Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña

Biblioteca Digital Dominicana

Archivo General de la Nación

Uruguay

Biblioteca Nacional de Uruguay

Archivo General de la Nación

Venezuela

Biblioteca Nacional de Venezuela

Biblioteca Digital de Venezuela César Rengifo

Archivo General de la Nación

 

 

Open Access Portals

 

Latin American and Caribbean Digital Primary Sources (SALALM: Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials): This site provides links to open access digitized collections of primary sources that relate to Latin America and the Caribbean. The materials listed are freely available to the public and were created or are hosted at an academic institution associated with SALALM (Seminar on the Acquisition of Latin American Library Materials).


Latin American Newspapers Database: This database provides access to bibliographic information for the newspapers available in the site’s Latin American Newspaper Collection. The collection comprises approximately 2,000 titles and was donated in 1993 by the American Antiquarian Society and Harvard University.


Biblioteca Digital del Patrimonio Iberoamericano(BDPI): The BDPI is a project led by the Association of Ibero-American National Libraries (ABINIA). It goal is to develop a site providing access to digital resources from all participant libraries. Members include libraries from the following countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Chile, Ecuador, El Salvador, Spain, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Dominican Republic, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Uruguay and Venezuela .