Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Library, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Environmental Education: All Grades

Guide to environmental education resources and curricula for teachers and teachers in training. Includes subject specific resources.

Books

3Rs Guide to Fun Recycling Projects for Educators: Reduce, Reuse, Recycle (Springfield, IL : Illinois Department of Commerce and Community Affairs, Bureau of Energy and Recycling, 1999.) [363. 7282 G94652]
Classroom activities and lesson plans on recycling, source reduction, life cycle analysis, environmental products, landfills, and solid waste management for grades K-12. Also includes a cross-reference index from the publication to the Illinois Learning Standards.

Chain Gang : The Chemistry of Polymers (Middletown, OH: Terrific Science Press, c1999. ISBN: 1883822130) [547.7 0712 C434.]
Explores the versatility of plastics and other polymers that we use daily. For grades 4-12.

Dirt Alert : The Chemistry of Cleaning ( Middletown, OH: Terrific Science Press, c1999. ISBN: 1883822114) [667.1 0712 D599.]
Examines the chemistry involved in home and industrial cleaning products used under various conditions. For grades 4-12.

Environmental Pathways: Youth Investigating Pollution Issues in Illinois (Springfield, IL: Illinois Environmental Protection Agency, 2002?.)
Designed to develop critical thinking skills, encourage students to think constructively about environmental issues and make informed, responsible decisions about natural resources.

Fat Chance : The Chemistry of Lipids ( Middletown, OH: Terrific Science Press, c1999. ISBN: 1883822092) [547.77 0712 F252.]
Shows students that fats aren't just in food by providing hands-on activities for making lipid-based products such as soap and candles. For grades 4-12.

Garbage, Trash, and Refuse: Problems and Issues by Harold Hungerford, William Bluhm, and Austin Winther (Champaign, IL : Stipes Publishing, 1999. Student edition ISBN: 0875638791, Teacher edition ISBN: 0875638805)
This is an extended case study for the investigation and evaluation of community-based solid waste issues. It covers the subject from definition, trends, disposal, recycling, and packaging to issue analysis, investigation, and citizenship action. No grade levels given.

GLOBE Program Teacher's Guide (Washington, DC : GLOBE Program, 1997. Online at http://archive.globe.gov/tctg/globetg.jsp) [372. 357 G562.]
Teacher's guide for the GLOBE program, a worldwide hands-on science education program that encourages teachers to collaborate with their peers and with scientists.

Let's Reduce and Recycle : Curriculum for Solid Waste Awareness: Lesson Plans for Grades K-6 and 7-12 (Washington, DC : U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 1990.) [EPA 530-SW 90-005.]
Collection of activities divided into two sections: one contains 28 activities appropriate for grades K to 6, and another contains 36 activities for grades 7 to 12. Each section consists of five units that address key concepts related to solid waste generation and management. Concepts include what is waste, how do we manage waste, how does waste affect our resources, how can we produce less waste, and what can we do about the waste we produce.

Making Discoveries: Groundwater Activities for Classroom and Community (Groundwater Foundation, no year given.)
Helps students broaden their scope and depth of knowledge about groundwater, surface water, wetlands and pollution through hands-on experiments and activities.

Project AIRE Air Information Resources for Education (K-12) : A Guide for Instructors (Washington, DC: United States Environmental Protection Agency, 1997. Available online at http://www.epa.gov/region01/students/teacher/aire.html) [372. 357 U58p.]
Complete curriculum dealing with various aspects of air pollution.

Science Fare : The Chemistry at the Table ( Middletown, OH: Terrific Science Press, c1999. ISBN: 1883822122) [641.3 S416.]
Examines the chemistry behind the food we eat with activities that determine the fat content of foods, fool your senses of taste and smell, and many more. For grades 4-12.

WOW! The Wonders of Wetlands: An Educator's Guide by Britt E. Slattery and Alan S. Kesselheim (St. Michaels, MD: Environmental Concern, Inc., 1995.)
Includes more than 50 learning-activities for both indoor and outdoor use. These activities focus on the three definitive wetland parameters: water, soil, and plants; there are animal-oriented exercises as well.

Web Resources