Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
50 Simple Things You Can Do to Save the Earth by
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
This classic guide to environmental awareness encompasses the latest research into such issues as global warming, ozone depletion, and endangered species and offers advice on how readers can help the environment.
For books on green living, see the Green Living LibGuide. There are also LibGuides for environmental novels, environmental films, and green business.
The Consumer's Guide to Effective Environmental Choices
Publication Date: 1999
Looks at the relationship between American consumers and the environment, identifying the most significant consumer-related environmental problems, as well as the most damaging spending categories; discusses priority actions people should take to protect the environment; and includes rules for responsible consumption.
Encyclopedia of Garbage by
Publication Date: 1996-09-01
Considers garbage in its social context, examining where it comes from; where it goes; what it does to the environment; and the cultural, political, economic, and public health issues arising from it. Entries range from household garbage and industrial waste to chemical effluents and airborne chemical emissions.
Environmental Encyclopedia by
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
Consisting of nearly 1,300 signed articles and term definitions, this publication provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a non-technical style and provides current status, analysis and suggests solutions whenever possible.
The Garbage Primer by
Publication Date: 1993-07-01
Although somewhat dated, still a good reference for the basics on garbage.
A Primer for Environmental Literacy by
Publication Date: 1998-08-11
Presents the key concepts of environmental science in an accessible style that can be understood by those who are not natural scientists. It offers a way to improve the capacity of non-scientists to understand the connections between humans and their environment.
Publication Date: 2011-03-03
When the author heard of the mysterious loss of thousands of bath toys at sea, he figured he would interview a few oceanographers, talk to a few beachcombers, and read up on Arctic science and geography. But questions can be like ocean currents: wade in too far, and they carry you away. His accidental odyssey pulls him into the secretive world of shipping conglomerates, the daring work of Arctic researchers, the lunatic risks of maverick sailors, and the shadowy world of Chinese toy factories. This work is a journey into the heart of the sea and an adventure through science, myth, the global economy, and some of the worst weather imaginable. With each new discovery, he learns of another loose thread, and with each successive chase, he comes closer to understanding where his castaway quarry comes from and where it goes.
2008 State of the Nation’s Ecosystems
Uses core environmental indicators to evaluate the state of ecosystems in the U.S. Good source for overview information on the current U.S. environment by type of ecosystem.
AirNow Kid's Section
AirNow's kids section includes games and air quality information geared toward K-5th graders.
AirNow Student's Page
Resources for middle and high school students related to air quality. Includes a teacher's section.
AirNow Teacher's Material
Various materials for teachers relating to air quality, including a printable PDF of the Air Quality Index Kid's Web site.
Center for Sustainable Systems Teaching Resources
The Center for Sustainable Systems has created several sets of teaching resources that can be used to support education surrounding sustainability concepts. These outlines and PowerPoints were created with a post secondary education audience in mind, but are also useful for secondary classrooms and for general information about environmental issues. Includes links to guides developed by the National Pollution Prevention Center.
Dr. E's Energy Lab
Games, tips, and facts just for kids who want to save energy. Also includes a parents and teachers section.
Energy Explained, Your Guide To Understanding Energy
Explains where gasoline comes from, what determines the price of electricity, how much renewable energy the United States uses, and hundreds of other energy topics.
Envirofacts Data Warehouse
U.S. EPA's one-stop site for environmental statistics of all kinds.
This Web site provides access to several EPA databases to provide you with information about environmental activities that may affect air, water, and land anywhere in the United States. With Envirofacts, you can learn more about these environmental activities in your area or you can generate maps of environmental information.
Kids for Saving Earth
Aimed at kids but with good background information and resources for teachers to use in the classroom. Audio warning: song plays immediately upon page load. Don't click on this in a quiet place.
Lesson Plan Central > Science > Environment
Links to environmental education lesson plans from many different sources.
NASA Earth Observatory
Links to NASA images, data, and resources related to the environment.
Natural Resources Defense Council
Good general information on a variety of environmental topics, including recycling, toxic chemicals, and air and water pollution. Check out their Green Squad site, designed to help kids identify, avoid, and fix environmental problems in their schools.
Population Action International > Issues > Population & Environment
Independent policy advocacy group working to strengthen public awareness and political and financial support worldwide for population programs grounded in individual rights.
The program develops age-appropriate curricula to complement students' science and social science instruction about human population trends and their impacts on natural resources, environmental quality and human well-being.
Environmental maps and statistics searchable by zip code. A good source for finding information about local environmental conditions.
State of the World Reports
Includes many, many statistics on the health of the world's environment. Available in many libraries.
“Sustainability: Water,” an original seven-part video collection, consists of detailed stories explaining significant challenges to managing the water supply in selected regions and cities across the United States. As climate rapidly changes and population grows, providing a sufficient supply and quality of water will be a critical challenge to people everywhere. These videos aim to help advance public understanding of the effects human activity and climate variability have on water and its distribution system.
Tox Town: An Interactive Guide to Commonly Encountered Toxic Substances
Interactive guide to commonly encountered toxic substances. Best viewed using Macromedia's Flash player, although there is also a text only version. Developed by the National Library of Medicine.
U.S. EPA > Acid Rain
Acid rain is a serious environmental problem that affects large parts of the United States and Canada. Acid rain is particularly damaging to lakes, streams, and forests and the plants and animals that live in these ecosystems.
Wastes -- Educational Materials
Links to U.S. EPA waste resources for students and teachers.
U.S. EPA Environmental Explorers Club
U.S. EPA site geared toward kids. Good age-appropriate information that can be integrated into the classroom.
U.S. EPA Radiation Information for Students and Teachers
Explains the basic concepts of radiation and radiation protection.
U.S. EPA Student Center
Includes links to Environmental Basics, Air, Conservation, Ecosystems, Water, Human Health, In Your Neighborhood, and Waste & Recycling.
U.S. EPA's MyEnvironment Portal
Pulls location-based information from a wide variety of environmental data sources. Sub-portals include: MyMaps, MyAir, MyWater, MyEnergy, MyHealth, MyLand, MyCommunity, and MyEnvironmental Reports. Locations can include zip code, city, county, park, and other natural landmarks.
U.S. EPA's Superfund for Students and Teachers Page
Contains information for junior high, high school, and college students, and teachers of all grade levels. It is designed to educate students and teachers about Superfund and hazardous waste.
U.S. EPA's Superfund Kids Page
Intended to introduce children ages three and up to the basic concepts of the Superfund program. See the Read Me First page for age levels for each activity.
Vital Signs Online
Vital Signs Online provides business leaders, policymakers, and engaged citizens with the latest data and analysis they need to understand critical global trends. Annual print editions are available at many libraries.
What's Up in the Environment?
Environmental education site targeted at middle and high school students. Includes a teacher's guide and links to other teacher resources. Partially funded by the National Environmental Education and Training Foundation.
World Wildlife Fund
Dedicated to protecting the world's wildlife and wildlands. Has an extensive education section.