Provides environmental educators with the tools to adapt existing environmental education resources to local environmental issues, cultures, and audiences.

If curling up comfortably in your favorite chair while engaging in a rich exchange of ideas and information with a diverse group of people sounds appealing, then distance learning might be for you. Environmental education is just beginning to tap the potential of the virtual classroom, with courses offered by University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, Project Learning Tree, and others. The courses fill gaps in the learning opportunities available to formal and nonformal educators, and have drawn students, educators, resource management specialists, and others from across the country and around the world. Convenience is the hallmark of distance learning, but there are many compelling reasons to consider online education. Read the article to explore those reasons and learn about current online offerings in environmental education.

Discusses methods for integrating sustainable development concepts into the curriculum in Manitoba, Canada. Many of the principles should be applicable to other geographic areas.

by David L. Haury (Columbus, OH: ERIC Clearinghouse for Science Mathematics and Environmental Education, 1998. ERIC Digest 433194.)

Developed by Rosalyn McKeown, this toolkit will help schools and communities develop a process for creating locally relevant and culturally appropriate education. It is based on the idea that communities and educational systems need to dovetail their sust

This guide provides you with a roadmap as you develop Environmental Education (EE) projects in EPA’s Office of Water. It lays out steps for creating quality EE projects and outlines EPA's procedural guidelines for producing a product or supporting related projects already in existence. In addition, it lists other publications, contacts, and references (web sites, training opportunities, and available materials) that provide you with further detail and insight into the process of developing effective environmental education pieces.

This report is a collection of case studies of schools in Texas, North Carolina, Wisconsin, Minnesota, Kentucky, and Florida that are using the environment across the curriculum to improve student performance.

This report is intended as an introductory guide for those new to the environmental education field and the larger educational benefits it has to offer.

Outlines the process for developing and implementing an environmental education program.

Provides information on the historical background of environmental education curriculum and presents current, comprehensive information on useful publications, standards, and special materials for implementing a K-12 environmental education program.

Intended as a ready reference for educators - both for understanding and incorporating environmental education into classrooms, curricula, and programs and as a handbook for finding valuable resources for environmental education across the curriculum.

This book attempts to take the reader from strong criticisms of environmental education to equally strong statements of philosophy as well as some of the research which underlies these elements.

This document is a reference tool for educators to use in preparing students to think critically on the use of the Web.

This report reflects the observations, findings, and recommendations made by the Public Linkage, Dialogue, and Education Task Force (PLTF) of the President's Council on Sustainable Development (PCSD), appointed by President Clinton.

Provides a direction in planning a comprehensive environmental education program based on perceptual awareness, knowledge, environmental ethics, citizen action skills, and citizen action experience.

Explains what environmental education is and how it can best be implemented at the school and classroom level.

Designed to teach students how to investigate and evaluate science-related social issues. Recommended for grades 7-8+.

The project is important because it provides instrumentation to measure environmental literacy
and baseline environmental literacy data for 6th and 8th graders across the United States. This
information can be used eventually to assess program effectiveness in the hope of raising
environmental literacy across the nation.

Principle activity is lobbying for environmental education funding in the reauthorization of the No Child Left Behind Act.

Demographic changes and the emergence of a more global society have challenged the field of environmental education (EE) to be more inclusive and to offer programming that is relevant to culturally diverse groups. But what do we mean by diversity, and where is the EE field going with it? This article addresses this question and profiles five organizations working to connect their programming to the communities they serve. From creating learning groups to reaching urban, immigrant, and native audiences, these organizations address what it means to work with diverse audiences, and how connecting with these communities changes what they're doing and how that work gets done.

Describes how a sound environmental education curriculum can be used to teach critical thinking skills to students.

Portal to U.S. EPA's environmental education information. Includes links to funding opportunities, training, publications, and other resources.

This report describes the efficacy of environment-based education in helping young people become lifelong learners and leaders.

GreenPrint, third edition is the third state plan produced under the direction of the Minnesota Environmental Education Advisory Board, a state board of 20 members representing state agencies and congressional districts.

Contains a set of recommendations for developing and administering high-quality environmental education programs for young children from birth to age eight, with a focus on ages three to six.

Provides recommendations for selecting, evaluating, and producing quality environmental education lesson plans, curricula, and other instructional materials. Workbook is available online in HTML and PDF.

The purpose of this book is to provide building blocks for designing and reviewing environmental education programs and activities.

Provides students, parents, educators, home schoolers, policy makers, and the public a set of common, voluntary guidelines for environmental education.

Provides students, parents, educators, home schoolers, policy makers, and the public a set of common, voluntary guidelines for environmental education.

Developed by the North American Association for Environmental Education, this is a set of recommended guidelines for the pre-service preparation of environmental educators.

In this revised and updated article, Ed McCrea, former executive director of North American Association for Environmental Education (NAAEE), reviews the history of the guidelines and how they have helped to advance environmental education (EE). EE now has a set of tools that promote unity, a common language, and the professionalization of the field.

Summary of the standing of environmental education in each state, including its place in state law and state educational standards.

Comprises a set of recommendations for developing and administering high quality nonformal environmental education programs.

NSDL Science Literacy Maps are a tool for teachers and students to find resources that relate to specific science and math concepts. The maps illustrate connections between concepts as well as how concepts build upon one another across grade levels.