News Databases
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowAccess World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowFeatures more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Includes current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, and more.
- PressReader This link opens in a new windowPressReader provides online access to over 700 newspapers from more than 55 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title. The PressReader App is available for reading papers on tablet devices. Formerly Library PressDisplay.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
General Databases
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowColumbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.
- OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new windowOECD iLibrary is OECD's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to OECD's analysis and data. It replaces SourceOECD ... OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowThe PAIS Archive includes carefully selected resources to help users identify and locate information about significant political, economic, social and cultural issues affecting international and local communities, countries, governments and society. Its broad topical scope and retrospective coverage complement more specialized databases that cover the humanities, health care, agriculture, sociology, history, and many other disciplines, providing historical perspective on many of the 20th century's public and social policies. Also, the PAIS Archive database contains references to monographs, periodical articles, notes and announcements, and analytics, and the original historical subject headings have been retained within the file for enhanced searching capabilities.
- Web of Science (All Databases Search) This link opens in a new windowEasily search across all subscribed Web of Science databases simultaneously using a common set of search fields for the most comprehensive results. Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Alternate version: Bibliography of Asian Studies in the classic EBSCO user interface (best for exporting more than 50 results or combining saved searches). This on-line version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains 787,165 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present... In addition to entries compiled since 1997, the online BAS includes the full data of all of the printed volumes of the BAS issued from the 1971 up to the 1991 volumes (published in 1997)... Through the 1991 printed volume, the BAS included citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften, etc. Monographs published since 1992, however, have not been added to the database, and users seeking such monographs are urged to consult other general resources and databases such as WorldCat.. Use Bibliography of Asian Studies in the NEW EBSCO user interface.
Think Tanks, NGOs, and Grey Literature
- Open Think Tank DirectoryA global collection of think tanks and related organisations. Filter results by region, country, and topic.
- CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online) This link opens in a new windowColumbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) is the most comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 onward that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs. CIAO is also widely-recognized source for teaching materials including original case studies written by leading international affairs experts, course packs of background readings for history and political science classes, and special features like the analysis of a bin Laden recruitment tape with video.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Included are journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and minority presses. The current collection, Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Native People.
Data and Statistics
- OCHA/HDX COVID-19 Data ExplorerAn up-to-date tool for understanding the impact of COVID-19 internationally. Provides visualizations and datasets.
- International Statistics by CountryA list of statistical websites from governments around the world. Many are in English; some are in native languages.
- World Bank Data CatalogA listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables, reports, and other resources.
Books
The pandemic has lasted long enough for books to be written about it. Because the publishing process takes time, books are not as up-to-date as the most most recent news sources or journal articles. Consider looking for books anyway—the library is collecting a growing corpus of books about the pandemic and its effects. If you would like to browse the library's collection, you can search the Library Catalog for both ebooks and physical books.
Useful subject searches to build into advanced searches include: