LibGuides: Epilepsy : Academic Resources

Journals

Epilepsia
Epilepsia is a leading, authoritative source for innovative clinical and basic science research for all aspects of epilepsy and seizures. This journal also publishes critical reviews, opinion pieces, and guidelines.
Epilepsy Currents
Epilepsy Currents is a bi-monthly open access current-awareness journal providing reviews, commentaries, and abstracts from the world’s literature on the research and treatment of epilepsy.
Epileptic Disorders
Epileptic Disorders publishes original research focusing on clinical practice in Epileptology and is the educational journal of the International League Against Epilepsy (ILAE).
Neurology
Neurology is the official journal of the American Academy of Neurology. It is peer-reviewed and publishes research on neurology that seeks to improve patient care, education, clinical research, and professionalism.

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others. Also includes full-text access to over 5,000 journals. Offers coverage of many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Alternate Access Link
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo is an electronic bibliographic database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. Updated weekly, PsycInfo {reg} provides access to journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

A-Z Databases
Find the best library databases for your research. Filter by subject and content type.

Statistics

Check out our "Finding Statistics" guide for more information on finding statistics from multiple areas of study:

Finding Statistics
by Teaching, Learning, and Academic Support Library Last Updated Mar 15, 2024 217 views this year

National Center for Health Statistics
Provides a variety of health statistics and surveys. The information on this website is free and they also publish the National Vital Statistics Report.

Searching Tips

Here are some ways to use keywords in a more complex search:

- By using the word AND to combine keywords databases will yield a narrower and more specific set of results, since AND tells the database to retrieve articles that have both keywords in them.

- By using the word OR to combine keywords databases will yield a broader and more comprehensive set of results, since OR tells the database to retrieve articles that have either one of the keywords in them (rather than both).

Examples:

Epilepsy OR "seizure disorder"
Epilepsy AND Women
Epilepsy AND (Teens OR Children)